FO: Lyra shawl

I’ve been holding on to this one for a while.  Last year I was the recipient of a random drawing prize from the Indie Design Gift-a-Long.  It was two skeins of Yarn Sisters Black Pearl yarn.  It is made of 50% pearl / 50% Tencel.  Yes, actual pearls!  Pearl dust (?) is bonded to the Tencel fibers.  It makes for a lustrous yarn with a slight crunchy feel while knitting.

My Rav page here.

Pattern: Lyra by Herbert Niebling

Yarn: The Yarn Sisters Black Pearl, laceweight in Crystal White, a little less than one “skein”.

Needles: 2.75mm and 3.25mm

Start Date: April 19, 2014

Finish Date: July 10, 2014

I had been wanting to knit a Niebling pattern for a long time.  I love the look of these lace pieces, even if they are a little doily-like.  The initial plan was to knit this as a wedding veil.  Now I am just calling it a shawl.  Maybe eventually it will have another use.

There are several different shapes in the pattern: a pentagon, a circle or an octagon.  Well, technically the pattern doesn’t say how to make the octagon, but it is pictured on the pattern available from LACIS.  Mine is the circle.  I thought about doing the octagon, but thought I was going to run out of yarn.  And then I had a ton of yarn left over!

I mostly followed the pattern, but another Raveller (who used to translate Niebling patterns for the LACIS museum) posted a modified chart that avoids some of the binding that can happen at parts of the shawl.  The new chart adds extra stitches so the pattern isn’t stretched as much when blocked out into a circle.

I also added some beads on to the edge.  They are TOHO size 6/0 seed beads in Colonial grey/blue.  The edging is made with a crochet hook, so I added a bead onto the single crochet stitch that connects the chain to the live stitches and onto the 6th chain of the loop.

Partway through the bind-off I ran out of beads.  And then no suppliers carried the same color!  I got kind of frantic but then eventually found some at a random store online.  It felt so urgent at the time, but then I just put it away for five months anyway!

I want to get some more pictures but that will have to wait for another time.  I haven’t measured it, but it probably has a diameter of 5 feet.  Now I have to decide what to make with the other half of the yarn!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “FO: Lyra shawl

  1. Adrienne

    It’s beautiful, a work of art!

Leave a Reply

