FO: Medallion-Edged Shrug

Better late than never, huh?  I finished this guy last month.  I had been wanting to knit up the pattern for a while and was inspired to start by the Yarniacs‘ Colors of Fall KAL.

Rav page here.

Pattern: Medallion-Edged Shrug by Katya Frankel from knit.wear Spring 2012.

Yarn: Forbidden Woolery Pride Lace in Goldilocks.  About .7 skeins.

Needles: US 4

Start Date: June 17, 2014

Finish Date: July 24, 2014

Notes: None really!  I knit this exactly as written.  Before starting I had assumed that the lace edgings were knit at the same time as the body.  But the edgings are picked up and worked afterwards.  I guess this makes sense, but I wasn’t thinking about that.  Which means the body and sleeves were pretty mindless knitting.  Good think that the sweater is cropped!

The yarn has little sparkles in it due to the Stellina content, but it is hard to see in the pictures.  The yellow is pretty close to Misted Yellow, one of the Pantone Fall 2014 colors.  One of my favorite knitting podcasts, The Yarniacs, is doing a Colors of Fall KAL with the Pantone colors.  I decided to join in with this one.  I have a bunch of other projects in the pipeline in Pantone colors, but I don’t think that I will get to them before the end of the Knit A Long.  Also, I’ve gotten really into podcasts recently.  There is a lot of time at work where I do mindless labor and podcasts are perfect for keeping me entertained!

Not much else to say about this one!  This should be a good layering piece for most of the year here in Los Angeles.  I have more to show you soon.  I have had a lot of anxiety about almost everything in my life and for some reason that includes blogging.  It feels overwhelming beforehand when it is actually easy and fairly stress-free when you actually do it.  So I’m hoping that I’ll come to my senses and get back to a regular schedule.  I have actually been putting off posting things on Ravelry because I didn’t have the energy to blog them!  For goodness sakes!  I need to get out of my head.

See you soon!  Really, I mean it!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “FO: Medallion-Edged Shrug

  1. You could always do what I do. Put your finished objects on Ravelry as you finish them, otherwise it is a bit hard to remember how much wool you used, etc. But I put a z in front of the name which tells me I haven’t blogged about them. Almost like they are in “draft” mode.
    Then when I have the time to blog about it (after getting some good pictures of course) I take the z out of the name and then I also share with my Ravelry groups as well once blogged.
    I think it would be too much pressure on me if I was to blog and Ravelry at the same time. Let’s face it, it can be quite time consuming. But fun of course.
    This little yellow shrug of yours is absolutely gorgeous!
    My Ravelry name is sleepinghorse if you want to see what I mean by the z.

  2. Love the dress/sweater combo! Very fetching 🙂

Leave a Reply

