FO: A Very Braidy Cowl

A coworker recently retired and I realized I had never knit anything for her over the last nine years.  This was the perfect opportunity!  But as always, I didn’t make a plan until a week before she was leaving.

I was able to churn this little guy out in that time frame:

My Rav page here.

Pattern: A Very Braidy Cowl by Maryse Roudier

Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted in Burgundy, just under one skein.

Needles:US8

Start Date: June 18, 2014

Finish Date: June 25, 2014

I didn’t do any real modifications.  I did one more repeat of the pattern because I thought it could still use a little more width and I wanted to use up as much yarn as possible.  I still had a little bit of yarn left over, but not enough to do another full repeat.  I used a provisional cast-on and then grafted the ends.  I decided not to worry about grafting in pattern since there are only a few purl stitches.  It is amazing how the graft really disappears.  It was hard to find it once my ends were woven in.

Oh, this project did have a “first” for me.  The first time I’ve used a row counter!  I get that they are useful, but still never bothered to use one.  Trying to be a tough guy or something.  Although I have the ability to count my rows while cabling, it isn’t obvious to me like in stockinette.  And boy was it easy just to check my row counter!  I also usually cable without a cable needle, but for such big cables it worked better to use a cable needle.  8 x 8 stitches!

It fits somewhat snugly around the neck but it is still easy to slip over the head.  Even without messing up your hair.

My co-worker really liked it!  She had no idea what a “cowl” was.  It surprised me a little bit.  Is it possible that non-knitters haven’t heard of cowls?  I think it’s probably a fluke. 

It was a quick, economical project.  In fact, I had recently received this skein of yarn at a giveaway of sorts at my knitting guild.  So this didn’t cost me anything!  The color is most accurate in the top picture.  An actual burgundy color.

I want to show you some WIP stuff soon.  I finished my Lyra, but I need to take pictures still.

Have a great weekend!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

