FO: Bias Eyelet Cowl

I have a confession. I am not a very punctual person. I had extra time to get my Mom a Mother’s Day gift because she was out of town on vacation. I tried to paint a plate at Color Me Mine. But it turned out pretty crummy. I didn’t have a plan. So I was a couple weeks late getting my Mom anything! What a negligent daughter!

I did end up making her a cowl. A bubble-gum-like striped Noro cowl.

My Rav page here.

Pattern: Bias Eyelet Cowl by Grace Akhrem

Yarn: Noro Silk Garden Lite and Rowan Milk Cotton DK.  Less than a ball each

Needles: US 4

Start Date: May 24, 2014

Finish Date: May 30, 2014

The cowl is knit on the bias, and fairly straightforward.  I knit straight for a little longer than the pattern called for.  Mostly because I wanted to see some more colors of the Noro and I thought it could be a little looser. 

Because you are carrying the two strands up the side of the work, one side started to look a little sloppy.  I tried not to worry about it, but it wasn’t good:

I ended up with plenty of the Silk Garden Lite left over, so I decided to do an applied I-cord edging along both sides.  This way I got to see some more of those colors!  And boy did it make it look more finished.  I picked up a stitch in every slip stitch on the edge, but every maybe four rows I added an extra row to my I-cord.  You have to find the right balance so that the edging is neither binding nor flared.

And if you are astute, you can see that I was doing this edging on a plane.  On the way to see my Mom!  Luckily she was out of town for the first two days I was home so that I had time to block it on the floor of my childhood bedroom.  Which, by the way, looks like a 16-year old girl still lives there. 

I probably should have gotten my Mom to model the cowl…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

