FO: Camden Hoodie and Peerie Booties

My close knitting friend Lauren is expecting a baby any day (minute?!) now!  I had been planning on making stuff for the baby and I thought I had so much time.  But man, does time fly sometimes!  In any case, I was able to finish up the main item I had planned.  (I also thought I was going to have time to make a sewn blanket.  What was I thinking?!)  When I bought the yarn we didn’t know the gender of the baby, so I went with a non-gender specific color.  Though I’m not all that interested in sticking to color stereotypes, etc.

What I ended up with was the Camden Hoodie in green and white:

My Rav page here.

Pattern: Camden Hoodie by Kristen Fanning

Yarn: Knit Picks Stroll Sport in Everglade Heather and White (3 balls green and 2 balls white)

Needles: 3.5mm (4US) for the garter body and 3.0mm (2 1/2US) for the cable edging.

Start Date: March 15, 2014

Finish Date: April 6, 2014

Yes, almost a whole month for this little sweater!  I don’t know how it almost took me as long as an adult sweater!  Though I kind of do.  I didn’t spend as much time on knitting that month, plus striped garter stitch sleeves in the round.  Yuck.

I made the 6-12 month size.  It looks fairly big, but I don’t really know baby sizes.  I didn’t make any modifications except maybe I made it a little longer to end with the proper striping.  I had to go down 2 needle sizes for the cabled edging.  Even then I felt it flared out a little more than I would have liked. It blocked out fairly straight though.

I had a few minor hiccups with it, but nothing too bad.  I noticed that my gauge seemed to change from one sleeve to another.  One feels much denser than the other one!  And it’s pretty tricky grafting the ends of the cable edging together, but I fudged it the best I could.  In the ball the Everglade heather color is very dynamic.  Pairing it with the pure white kind of tones down its brilliance, but oh well.

I had at least half a ball of yarn left over of each color, so I made some matching booties.

My Rav page for them here.

Pattern: Peerie Weerie Booties by Carrie Bostick Hoge

Needles: 3.25mm (3US)

Start Date: April 4, 2014

Finish Date: April 5, 2014

These were made while the hoodie was blocking.  I thought they would be larger than the newborn size in the pattern because I used sport weight yarn.  But they still seem pretty small to me.  I didn’t have time to block them though, so probably they will bloom a bit.  Of course now I am looking at the pattern page and realizing that the pattern called for sport weight and not fingering weight anyway…

I love the three color version in the pattern, but I wanted these to match the hoodie.  Plus there are considerably less ends to weave in with just two continuous colors!  Of course now these will have to be worn immediately and the hoodie won’t fit for another six months!  I should probably stop mentioning all the ways that I am disappointed in these projects since Lauren reads the blog!

It is pretty satisfying to knit baby stuff.  So cute!  So fast! (Well, sometimes.)  And I can’t wait to meet the new baby girl!

I just finished a little stack of other baby knits for another friend.  Do you guys have any go-to baby items?  I can’t stop queuing baby patterns!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “FO: Camden Hoodie and Peerie Booties

  1. Lauren

    I love, love, love the gifts! The colors are perfect, and I can’t wait for baby girl to be able to wear them. She should be here any day!

Leave a Reply

