Ready…Set…Knit!

It is upon us once again.  The Olympic Games have begun, which means the Ravellenic Games have also started.  As of two hours ago, we can cast-on our projects.  I am not very hardcore, and haven’t started my project just yet.  You know, there’s that pesky little thing called a day job.  But sometime before lunchtime I might cast-on all 224 stitches of my project.

I am going to be making the #21 Lace Dress from Vogue Knitting Spring/Summer 2008.  I posted about it a couple weeks ago.

325_1_

It will theoretically be my rehearsal dinner dress, or maybe just a pretty dress that I can wear any time.  I am using stash yarn (!), Rowan Milk Cotton DK in Barley Sugar.  I did my swatch early like a good knitter.

I kind of wish it was in “white” white, but that’s okay.

I think I’ll be able to finish it in the 17 days of the Winter Olympics.  In my mind it is going to be a snap, but I probably need to be more realistic.  I knew I should have waited to cast on a new sweater until after the Games, but I was too eager, and now I have a new Svalbard in progress that I am going to have to put aside for a couple weeks.  It is almost sad how much of a monogamous knitter I am!

Are you starting anything for the Ravellenic Games?  I’m not joining a team or anything, just doing my own thing this year.  You?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Ready…Set…Knit!

  1. That dress from vogue knitting is beautiful! And it looks like your project is turning out great already. This is my first time hearing about the Ravellenic Games, so I won’t be participating this year. It sounds like such a huge event for knitters.

    • jborders

      Thanks for the comment Tiffany!

      It’s not too late to join in. Just pick a project that would be a challenge for you and try to finish it before the Games are over!

      Jill

  2. I just heard about the Ravellenic Games a little over a week ago. I’m a new knitter so I’ll be doing a couple pairs of socks. And yeah, not part of a team, just going solo 🙂

    • jborders

      I’m pretty impressed that you are doing a couple pairs of socks during that time frame! You must not be as much of a beginner as you say! 🙂

  3. That dress has been in my queue for awhile. It’s gorgeous! I’m excited to see how yours works up! Good luck!

  4. You have given yourself an excellent Ravellenic challenge, Jill! Wow! Good luck to you. I hope you win the gold medal! I working on a WIP for the games….another granny afghan!

  5. Lisa

    I can’t wait to see the finished project!

Leave a comment