FO: Gwen Stacy Hat

I am finished with my Chance of Showers, and started right in on some chemo hats for Halos of Hope.  I haven’t been able to get sweater pictures yet though, because my usual photographer has been MIA at work.  So without a large project on the needles, I am just clicking away at some hats.  And because I don’t have pictures of anything else, I’ll show you the first one I’ve finished.

My Rav page here.

Pattern: Gwen Stacy by Hailey Knits

Yarn: Caron Simply Soft in Country Blue (the medium one), about 70 grams.

Needles: US 5 and US 6

Start Date: January 20, 2014

Finish Date: January 22, 2014

The pattern is supposed to be a little slouchy, but it isn’t really.  I didn’t bother with gauge on this one, but it ended up fitting my large head pretty well.  Though maybe I should make my other chemo hats a little smaller.  If I were to do this again, I would probably do the ribbing on a needle 2 sizes smaller than the body.  Otherwise it was a pretty straightforward pattern and a quick knit.

I am currently working on another hat for Halos of Hope.  It is Barley by tincanknits and also done in Caron Simply Soft.  I had bought three skeins of this when I made my Op Top hat copying Michele and Eve.  And now I want to get it out of my house!  And I didn’t really have any other good yarn for charity knitting.  Too much non-superwash wool in my stash.  I think I will send these hats off for the Podcasters Showdown – probably to the Knitmore Girls.  It is totally crazy how much I listen to knitting podcasts now.  I have a lot of time at work when I am just doing menial tasks or winding through film and it is really nice to have something to listen to.  Of course in my old position I just listened to a lot of NPR, so I was probably a more well-informed individual then…

Have a great weekend!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

