FO: Shrunken Head

The father of a friend of mine (well, actually my co-worker/ex-boss/ex-boyfriend/friend) has been in and out of the hospital being treated for bladder cancer.  I wanted to make him something to let him know that I was thinking of him.  Then it finally dawned on me what I should make for him: a shrunken head!  It sounds a little crazy for a get-well-soon kind of gift, but he is an eccentric guy.  He has made some low-budget monster movies (among other projects), is very into vintage carnival stuff, and used to create fake shrunken heads and sell them on eBay!  Above all that, he is super sweet and friendly.

I thought I would have to come up with my own pattern.  I was thinking about modifying a skull pattern to work.  And then I just tried searching for “shrunken head” on Ravelry, and I’ll be damned, there were already a handful of patterns written.

My Rav page here.

Pattern: Shrunken Head by Ruth Jepsen

Yarn: Knit Picks Wool of the Andes in Amber Heather and Blackberry, about half a skein each, maybe a little more.

Hook: E

Start Date: January 3, 2014

Finish Date: January 5, 2014

Ooh, my first finished item from 2014!  The pattern was very straightforward.  There are a few things I would change if I were to do it again, but I am super happy with the outcome.  I would try to do the nose differently to get a more rounded nose.  Not that I needed it to be super realistic (it’s crocheted, for goodness sakes) but I would like it to look a little more Papua New Guinea.  I didn’t quite understand how to fold the nose in the pattern, so maybe there was a way to change it then.  By the way, there is also a pattern that looks like the Shrunken Head Guy from Beetlejuice.  Amazing.  I might have to make that one for myself.

In the one I made, there is also a round that is crocheted through the back only.  This gives a nice ridge for attaching the hair.  I might have wanted to do more rounds of that (but only on the backside of the head) to help out with the hair.  But it worked out fine without it.

I used crochet thread for “sewing” shut the lips and eyes.  I added some miscellaneous jump rings that I had sitting around at home.

A fun little project.  I am plugging away on my only other project, but might start some chemo hats soon.  I have been meaning to do some charity knitting, so I better get on it!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “FO: Shrunken Head

  1. WOW! Faboo! When we were kids my older brother had a shrunken head hanging in his closet. One day, our once-a-week cleaning lady was tidying up and opened Kenny’s closet door. She ran out of the house so fast and never came back after seeing that fake, plastic shrunken head! I might have to make one of these for my brother’s birthday!!!

Leave a Reply

