FO: Medusa Mittens

Happy New Year everyone!  I had decided that 2014 was going to be the “Year of Big Changes” and it is already shaping up that way!  More into that soon.  I like to designate a theme to each year on a lesson that I am trying to work on.  Past years have been, “Not Doing Anything I Don’t Want to Do”, followed by the next year of “Re-engaging with the World.”  Most recent themes have been “No Shame” and “Valuing Myself.”  Valuing myself was going to include using a full sheet of the sticky lint roller if necessary, and if that was how I judge my success of the last year, I would say that I failed.

I think the next time I post, I will put together some knitting goals, or at least lay out all of the projects that I want to start and already have the yarn for.  I just have one item on the needles right now and it is making me nervous about what I am going to start next.  I am currently working on Chance of Showers by Heidi Kirrmaier.  I am using Malabrigo Arroyo and am loving it.  It is nice to treat myself to nice yarn every so often.  And all of the colors are working together great!

Here is my last knitting FO of 2013:

My Rav page here.

Pattern: Medusa Mittens by Annie Watts

Yarn: Cherry Tree Hill Supersock in navy blue and Malabrigo Sock in Lettuce.  I used most of my leftovers on the CTH (40 grams?) and less than half a skein of the Malabrigo.

Needles: US 1, 2.25mm

Start Date: December 16, 2013

Finish Date: December 23, 2013

I started these mittens for my sister a while before that, but using Colinette Jitterbug leftovers in Wasabi for my contrast color.  I was also using 2.50mm needles.  And I got to the end of the thumb gusset and tried them on and they were pretty big.  I just hadn’t really checked gauge.  Switching to the Malabrigo Sock worked out so much better.  It is a much thinner sock yarn than Jitterbug and this time I got the right size mitten.  I was trying to finish up other projects so didn’t get to these until I was on my way to Portland for the holidays.  I finished one mitten on my way there.  It worked out to my advantage that there was a stop in Sacramento, two flying legs and two delays…  The second mitten I had to finish while my sister was out of the house working!

When I saw this pattern, I immediately thought of my sister.  A few years ago she dressed up as Medusa for Halloween.  I would show you the picture, but she’s a little shy about having her picture up here.  (As evidenced by the photo above!)  The colors are most accurate in the carpet pictures.  We didn’t have time to get out and take daylight photos.

The mittens were pretty straightforward.  As with any pictorial colorwork you do need to be looking at the chart more than other rhythmic patterns.  I couldn’t quite wrap my head around how the thumb gusset stitches lined up with the thumb chart, but just kind of fudged it instead of laboring over it.  And I really stressed out over those French knots for the snake eyes.  They are a little wonky, but that’s as good as I could get them.  Embroidery for some reason really intimidates me.  Cross stitch okay, embroidery bad.  I feel the same way about any kind of mending.  I got my Mom to help me re-stitch some pants pockets because they were coming up.  If she hadn’t just done it, I would have stared at the pants duzzled (a vocab word from my old Pottery Barn stockroom days.  When you just kind of stare at a problem overwhelmed and not act.  I guess a dazed/puzzled combo).

This was my only holiday gift that I knit.  It’s nice not to have too much pressure.  I thought I might start my Christmas sweater, but I didn’t.  Maybe next year.  I also worked on a couple weaving projects while I was home.  I have a new-to-me Schacht 8-harness table loom, but it turns out it is giant and it will be living at my parents’ house for the foreseeable future.

Here’s to 2014!

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “FO: Medusa Mittens

  1. Why spend all that money on throw-away lint remover?! The newest re-usable lint remover is here! Take 10 seconds to see it now at http://www.SecretKidCleanup.com

  2. Do you know what you are missing? Grab the chance to see the latest lint
    remover, and have fun with it at http://www.SecretKidCleanup.com

Leave a Reply

