St. Louis Trip Wrap-Up

I went to St. Louis with Lucas for Thanksgiving this year.  It is the first time I’ve done any traveling for Thanksgiving in about 9 years.  And the first time I got to meet his grandmother and other family members.  And it was so much fun!  Somehow we managed to not check in for our flights (Southwest, too!) until about 14 hours after check-in was available.  But we lucked out and were able to sit together on all of our flights.

Check out this crazy painting on the wall at LAX.  Yes, LAX airport!

Just one of a number of pieces in one art installation at the airport.  More on the installations here.  This painting reminds me of the movie MacGruber.  I guess it was a theatrical bomb in 2010, but I think the movie is amazing.  And Will Forte is so hot right now! 🙂

I was able to finish Lucas’s scarf before we touched down in St. Louis.  Hopefully better pictures later!

The real highlight of the trip was meeting all of the family.  But I don’t have any pictures of that, so let’s move on!

We went to the City Museum, which I have been hearing about for years.  The museum is pretty bananas.  It has also been described as the perfect place for child abductions.  It is a free-form play area with tunnels and slides and just a bunch of crazy shit.  It makes me think of the 1970s, though it is much newer than that.

Railings made out of old bobbins:

In case it is not clear, you can climb all through those metal tunnels.  Like in this beautiful shot!

There’s an outdoor area with tunnels like 80 feet up in the air!  I risked losing my phone for these shots:

My knees were not happy with all of the crawling.  Yikes.  Also, I started to rip the back pockets off my pants from all the sliding and stuff.

Hipstamatic picture of Wiley:

And of Clay and Anna:

They sell old Twinkie pans!

 

I would have bought one, but they were too big to fit in my oven and not quite big enough to be a statement piece in my home.  And I would have had to figure out how to get it home on the plane.

The City Museum was everything I had hoped for!

Oh, and we barely had enough time for me to see the Arch.  I didn’t go up in it, just ran up the steps to the base of it, Rocky-style.

From far away:

And extremely close-up.  I never hit the sweet photography spot…

More about the food next week!

How is the gift knitting going?  I just need to make some mittens still…

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

