Halloween costumes?

Have you been going to Halloween parties over the last week? Lucas and I went to a Halloween cocktail party the weekend before last. I told L that it was costumes optional. We decided to go for it, and made up some undead 80’s Jazzercizers outfits. As a current Jazzercise instructor, we are always encouraged to keep things contemporary, but I’ve always wanted to do a classic 80’s homage. Right before we went to the party I noticed that the invitation actually said “costumes not required.” And maybe that’s totally different from optional. We were the only people dressed up! And we were both wearing tights/leggings. I think we only got one cell phone picture of our outfits.

20131030-141445.jpg

Tomorrow I might actually teach my class in a costume. But the only one I have that I can move in involves an opaque nude bodysuit. And I will tell you now that is one of the most unflattering things you can wear!

My birthday is a few days after Halloween so some years I have a combination Halloween/birthday party. Last year the theme was “Too Late, Too Soon.” So either costumes that are too sensitive (too soon) or something that was relevant, but no longer is (too late). Here is what I came up with:

I was JonBenet Ramsey. That one is kind of a toss-up in terms of if it is Too Late or Too Soon. The original idea was that it was Too Late, but it turns out that a murdered girl is kind of always Too Soon. The ensemble was inspired by some of her western cowgirl performance wear.

Lucas came up with his outfit in one day and didn’t tell me beforehand what he was going to be. Boy was I surprised when he showed up as Max Headroom!

20131030-141217.jpg

This year is a little more low-key for us. Sometimes I will be working on things for weeks and this year I’m really just throwing something together. Two years ago we were Pee-Wee Herman and Mickey the convict from Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure. I think these were during my blog drought years.

And no new costumes for my cats either! Here’s one of Olivia from a couple years ago:

Boy does that cat hate clothes. Any good costumes this year? How about your pets?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Halloween costumes?

  1. Our WeHo SnB is having it’s usual party on Thursday 10/31, upstairs dining area at the Original Farmers Market. There are prizes! 3 Categories: Best overall costume; best use of yarn in your costume and the 3rd is for our theme this year, “Saturday Night Live” character. I do love the SNL category. There are 37 years of characters to choose from!!! Come on down, Jill!

    • jborders

      Thanks Ellen! I love the WeHo party but I have to teach class until 8. I have gotten rave reviews for my Mary Catherine Gallagher in the past. 🙂

  2. Denise Webb

    Hi, I just came across your blog while searching for costume ideas. I love your creativity with all your costumes especially Pee-wee and Mickey (and Jon Benet…but shhh, it’s still too soon 😉 ). My husband and I were actually thinking about doing them for an up-coming comic con. WHERE did you get a Pee-wee sweater dress?? Yours is PERFECT! I can’t wait to see what you come up with for this year. 🙂

  3. Denise Webb

    I just realized you have a knitting blog, so I’m assuming you made your Pee-Wee dress…duh! Your pieces are beautiful. Do you ever sell them?

    • jborders

      Sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner! I kind of abandoned this blog for a short time. 🙂 Thank you for your compliment on my Pee-Wee sweater! No, I don’t usually sell my knitting. It just takes too much time to make it worthwhile. For years I wanted to get my Mom to knit this sweaterdress for me, and I was excited when I was finally able to knit it for myself!

Leave a comment