WIP Round-up

I haven’t finished anything in weeks.  That makes me sad.  I am working on two projects at the same time, and they are just not getting done as quickly as I would like.  I have a ton of things from my queue begging to be knit but I have to finish one of these bastards first.  So here’s what I’m working on:

The Lacey Leaf Satchel by Pam Powers.  This was from Interweave Knits Summer 2010.  I liked it then, but didn’t really think about making it until I needed to make a bag for the Skein After Skein Epic KAL-CAL.  And I decided to make the most complicated bag out there…

It is really close to being done.  All of the knitting is done.  I have to finish making the bag support, then sew the lining.  I like to think it will be finished this weekend, but it will probably be weeks. 😦  It is stalled slightly because I love knitting, but sewing weird shit together isn’t really a passion.  Also, this is going to be a huge bag.  The bottom of that support is 17.5″x6″.  Full details when it is finished.

The other project I have on the needles is Lemongrass by Joji Locatelli.  I am making it in Noro Kochoran which is a bulky long color repeat yarn with a ton of angora in it.  It is a super fuzzy and busy.  And I am making a sweater in it…  I’ve had this yarn in the stash for years and I have been looking for a project for it.  I think the pattern is simple enough to not be crazy.  But, I am still not sure.  I wonder if all the people that use fancy MadTosh yarns in the Joji group are going to look down their noses at my crazy one.  Actually, everyone in that group is really nice; but I am insecure.  Not that this yarn wasn’t expensive, but I am pretty sure I got it for 50-75% off.  I think I have a couple skeins that were purchased at the Knit Cafe on Melrose if that dates this stash purchase a little better.  I am pretty sure they went out of business about five years ago.  Let’s just call it an experiment.  If it is a disaster I will rip it out and make a blanket or something.

Here’s the front.  I’ve finished the back and just have the ribbing on the bottom, the sleeves and the turtleneck to do.  I think (hope) that I have two full skeins left back at home.  I am not sure why the bottom of the sweater is so much darker.  I didn’t notice until this picture.  Hopefully I am not up against a dyelot issue.  Might be the angle.  It looks pretty consistent in the actual sweater.  I have decided not to worry about stripes matching up.  That would drive me crazy because every skein has had a knot in it so far.  You know, the kind that are just tied on anywhere, disrupting the color sequence?

This should go quickly with bulky yarn, but I have just not given it much knitting time.  Maybe this weekend.

What I really want to get started on is this!:

It is Clair de Lune by Carol Sunday.  I will be using Knit Picks Palette in Sagebrush.  The yarn is a little less minty and a bit more blue  in real life.  I will make mine a bit shorter.  I thought I would have cast on weeks ago.  If only my other projects would finish themselves!

How many things do you have “on the needles”?

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “WIP Round-up

Leave a Reply

