Finishing Spinning: To-Ply

More spinning!  I wanted something to spin at the last Spinning Guild meeting so I grabbed a rope of semi-solid fiber from the stash.

The fiber was from To-Ply and it was a Merino/Bamboo/Nylon blend in colorway Gold.  I bought this 4-oz braid at the Handspinner’s Guild marketplace in Torrance a few years ago.  The fiber felt great to spin with and it was pretty inexpensive too!

There’s the fancy “inside a plastic bag” shot.  It was nice to work with something that I didn’t have to worry about the color with.  I just split it in half (not lengthwise) and went for it.  I didn’t realize it was going to be so thin, but it is probably a fingering or even light fingering.

I love the color!  It is really carrot-y.

Start date: August 24, 2013

Finish date: September 5, 2013

4 oz, 327 yards.

Merino 60%, Bamboo 30%, Nylon 10%

I was so happy with it when I was done.  Then I went to put it away and realized I had some other lace/fingering weight handspun that looked just like it.  Here it is next to some hand-dyed Optim that I spun years ago:

I can see the difference, and I guess that’s all that counts… right?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Finishing Spinning: To-Ply

  1. Pingback: 2013 wrap-up | jill & jill

Leave a Reply

