FO: Water for Elephants Socks

Perfect timing.  I finished a pair of stranded colorwork socks just in time for the heatwave!  I haven’t been knitting socks that much recently.  I kind of just realized that I didn’t wear hand knit socks for most of the year.  And they take me a while to make.  I would rather use my fingering weight yarn for a cute shawlette instead of something to go on my feet.

But a pair of socks is required for the Epic KAL/CAL.  I have had this pattern in my queue for awhile and the designer was the featured designer for the Sock Knitters Anonymous group.  So I double-dipped.

CO Date: June 11, 2013

BO Date: June 30, 2013

Pattern: Water for the Elephants socks by Rose Hiver

Yarn: Cascade Heritage Sock in Gray 5602, and Koigu KPPPM in a dark charcoal/brown (can’t remember #).  I think I used more than 50 grams of the MC and like 45 grams of the CC.

Needles: 2.5mm DPNs, though on the second sock I used a 2.25 for the ribbing.

My Rav page: here.

Notes: These were a lot of fun!  I followed the pattern to the letter.  I did cut off about the last 8 rounds of the foot chart because of length.  I wear an 8 1/2 and couldn’t do the final striped bands at the toe.  While I was knitting my first sock, I thought it was going to be too big, but by the time I had the leg completed, it was a bit of a squeeze to get my heel through.  They fit well once on though.

I tried a couple of different color combinations.  I always hate to break into full skeins so I kept myself to using a CC that was either leftovers or just a 50gm skein.  This was a skein that I had tried to use in another color work sock about 5 years ago and finally frogged this month!  Not the most dynamic, but better than the bubble gum and unicorn combination I started with.  (Okay, it was light gray and variegated pink/purple, but it was very cutesy.)

Maybe I’ll have to do some more socks!  Though a colorwork sock kind of defeats the purpose of having a portable sock project because I had to carry around the chart and multiple balls of yarn!

This is my Epic KAL/CAL project #5.  Now to put them in the drawer until October!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

