Tasty Tuesday: Sea Salt Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie

Okay, okay, it’s not Tuesday. But I meant to post this all day yesterday. I felt a little ashamed at how bad my pictures are, but if I don’t just post it now, it’ll never happen.

Lucas is obsessed with chocolate chip cookies. Me, of course I like them, but they aren’t my favorite dessert by a long shot. Sometimes at his work, they will have a catered meeting. The highlight of these meetings being the “cookie pie”. He brought some back for me once, and it was kind of indescribable. A mix of cookie dough and streusel topping, but not really pie crust.

After some digging around, I found this Cookie Pie recipe that is apparently standard on a bag of chocolate chips. I had to make it for his birthday!

(I warned you they were crappy pictures, right?)

And I’ll share the recipe with you!

Sea Salt Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie adapted from All Recipes.com

1 9″ pie crust, either from your favorite recipe or store bought. I always use the classic recipe in the Best Recipe book, though they’ve since come up with their Fool-proof pie crust with vodka that I haven’t tried.

3 eggs

1/2 cup flour

1/2 cup white sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar, packed

1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled (1 stick)

1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

1 tsp vanilla

couple pinches of fleur de sel or sea salt

  • Preheat oven to 325 degrees
  • Prepare your pie crust. I like to have it rolled out, then in the fridge for a while before baking.
  • Beat eggs until frothy, then mix in flours and sugars until well blended.
  • Add cooled butter, vanilla and a pinch of salt. The batter will be thinner than cookie dough.
  • Stir in chocolate chips. Save this for the last step, or even pour the chocolate chips onto the pie after pouring the mixture into the pie crust. The chocolate chips usually sink to the bottom. You have an option to add a cup of pecans in at this stage, though you will likely need a deep-dish pie plate for that.
  • Bake for 50-60 minutes at 325 degrees. The pie will puff up while baking. Take it out when the center looks set.
  • Take pie out of the oven and immediately sprinkle a pinch or so of fleur de sel on the top of the pie.

The pie is best served warm, with ice cream or whipped cream! But I baked mine in the morning and we ate it cold in the middle of a mall after seeing a movie. Then microwave individual slices for about 10-15 seconds to get the fresh baked cookie taste. I cut my pie into 12 slices, but it really makes more like 16 slices. It is very intense!

Yum!

20130529-172535.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

