FO: Summer Blooms Shawl

I recently started a new position at work.  It’s not all that exciting recently, but it has kind of cut into my blogging time.  I need to get used to a new style of time management.  I have a couple post ideas, so I should get back on board soon…

Here is a crescent shawl/scarf that I made for Lucas’s Mom.  Her birthday is the day after his birthday, so we did a joint celebration this week.

Rav Project page here

Pattern: Summer Blooms by Susanna IC from Interweave Knits, Summer 2012

Yarn: Malabrigo Lace in Orchid, about .9 skeins

Needles: US 6

Start Date: May 3, 2013

Finish Date: May 11. 2013

No mods.  I used size 8/0 beads that I had left over from another project.  In fact, the yarn is an extra skein from another project as well.  I was so sure that I would use more than one skein, and I had about 1.4 skeins left.  So now I have three little balls of this yarn left.

A loose cast-on is crucial for this project so that the blooms on the edging have points and aren’t just rounded.  The directions call for casting on using a much larger needle.  From reading the KnitList and Joan Schrouder‘s expert posts, I know that using a larger needle just gives you a larger first row of knitting, it doesn’t make the cast-on looser (for Long-Tail).  Trusting Joan’s expertise, I used the same size needle to cast on, but I made sure to separate each stitch farther apart on the needle as I was casting on.  This way the extra yarn is in the foundation and not in the first row of stitches.  This worked out fine!  But I was kind of stressing about it the whole time.

Another thing that is helpful, is to use two separate strands of yarn when doing a Long-Tail cast-on with a bunch of stitches.  That way you don’t have to worry if you have a long enough tail.  And put a stitch marker every 50 stitches or so, in case you lose your count.

I think Carol loved it!  I wish I had gotten a picture of her wearing it!

This is project #3 in the Epic KAL/CAL.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “FO: Summer Blooms Shawl

  1. What a thing of beauty! I’m dying to knit one but do not have the skill! Thanks for sharing! I’m so green of envy!

  2. omg, how genius to use two strands for long tail cast on when you need lots of stitches. I never would have thought of that, I either have way too long a tail, or rip out multiple times trying to get it right. thanks for the brilliant solution!

Leave a Reply

