Sewing FO: Chicken Potholder

I have been pretty bad about Tasty Tuesday…  I have been finishing some projects though, so we’ll continue on this FO parade.

This is what I made for my Mom for Mother’s Day:

A chicken potholder!  Just hanging out in the industrial space at my work…

Pattern: Chicken Potholder by Myra Mitchell (no website, but here’s the first site I saw that carried it when googled)

I used a couple fat quarters that I got from Jo-Ann’s.  There is batting and Insulbrite inside.  The binding was actually left over from my quilt.  Though next time I might just buy bias tape.

The pattern wasn’t too difficult, but I had a lot of trouble sewing on the binding.  I am still a bit of an amateur when it comes to sewing.  And the base basically makes a circle, but it was hard to sew with stuffing in the head and tail.  And next time I will use the machine to sew down the other side of the binding.  No need to fuss with handsewing.  It’s just a potholder!

The pattern suggests that you make two potholders, but this one ended up being more work than I thought.  One potholder only uses two fat quarters, so it’s economical.  I used embroidery floss for the eyes, though you can use beads.

I know I’ll make at least one more in the future, especially because I already cut out plastic templates of all the pieces!  I have another potholder to make, that is shaped like a pie.  But then I’ll have to start thinking about my next quilt project!  Lucas is helping me design an applique quilt, but it may not be my next project.

What are you working on?

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

