FO: Grown Up Girl

Here’s the sweater that I’ve been working on for the last month.  I am super happy with it!

Ravelry page here.

Pattern: Grown Up Girl by Joji Locatelli

Yarn: fingering weight wool ( I think the Pura Lana Testa) held double from Lanas Naturales in Buenos Aires.  A little more than 400 grams.

Needles: US7

Start Date: March 15, 2013

Finish Date: April 11, 2013

Notes: The only real modification was to omit the ties.  I was very torn about wanting it to belt or not, but I decided to just go with a single button.  I added a few extra rows of short rows on the collar to make it a tiny bit wider.  My upper sleeves are a little tight, and I wouldn’t mind a tiny bit more ease.  I didn’t realize for awhile that it is a bit of a drop shoulder, so I had initially made the sleeves too long and had to rip back a bit.

When I was knitting it, it looked a little small.  The reverse stockinette sections ended mid bust and I wasn’t sure about it.  But it definitely loosened up a bit with blocking.  They are still higher than empire waist, but it works better now.  One thing that I would do differently, would be to make my gathers a little neater.  Those stitches are super big right now, and they would look better if I snugged them up more while I was doing the decreases.

The lace and bobble section on the back and pockets was the most fun.  I get a little bored with too much stockinette.

This was souvenir yarn that I brought back from Buenos Aires a few years ago.  I was happy that I got to use it on a Joji pattern since she lives in B.A.

I think this will get a lot of use!

BTW, I am so close to finished with my quilt.  I am now hand sewing the binding down to the back.  And then I have to make my quilt label…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

