FO: Equilibrium Cowl

Stuff is getting finished!  Hooray!  I have Vivian all done and set to show you too.  But one thing at a time.

Pattern: Equilibrium Cowl by Carolyn Kern from Knitscene Accessories 2012

My Ravelry page here.

Yarn: Cascade 220 in color 2415 (the mustard) and Knit Picks Gloss DK in Admiral (blue-purple).  I used less than 200 yds than each, but I had some remainder balls so am not quite sure how much of each.  More of the blue.

Needles: US8 circs

Start Date: Feb 25, 2013

Finish Date: March 7, 2013

Mods: None really.  The cowl is knit in a long tube, first one colorwork pattern, a reverse stockinette section, the second colorwork pattern and another reverse stockinette section.  Then you fold in it half and sew the ends together.  The pattern calls for whipstitching the two sides together, but I used mattress stitch instead.

My last reverse stockinette section ended up a little loose.  Or maybe my bind-off was super loose.  It ended up not being a problem, but it was ruffling out when I was blocking it.  But now that it’s sewn together it isn’t too noticeable.

Here’s one side:

And the other side.  Exciting pictures, huh?

I always like doing colorwork, so it was nice to do this cowl.  I also wear cowls and shawls more than any other handknit.  They are just so easy to throw on!

I’m not sure what will be next for me.  My friends over at Skein After Skein are going to be doing a big “Epic KAL/CAL” starting in mid-April.  The initial idea was to do 12 items from the Best of Knitscene book in a year.  But I didn’t like enough projects in the book and they decided to change it to a more generic challenge.  But I think I will try to kind of stick to the original parameters but making only items from Knitscene magazine.  Which means that I should hold off on any projects from Knitscene for the next month.

I really want to make Grown up Girl by Joji Locatelli, and I already have the pattern.  The yarn I want to use for it might not be thick enough, so I have to swatch and see if it will work.  Then try to finish it up before the KAL starts next month!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “FO: Equilibrium Cowl

  1. That is just beautiful! I love the different pattern on the inside. What a versatile piece!

Leave a Reply

