Slow, slow, slow

That’s how I feel about my knitting progress!  I am steadily knitting every day, but with nothing to show for it!  I used to go to my weekly SnB group and complain about having not finished anything lately, and I’d get an eyeroll from someone in the group and they’d remind me that I had just finished something a week or two ago.  But this last time, I got a, “yeah, I haven’t been here in a long time and you were still working on that project the last time I saw you.”  Ugh!  A whole month without a Finished Object!

Here are the two knitting projects I’ve been working on:

The first is the #01 Lace Coat from Vogue Knitting Early Fall 2012.  It is a potentially non-useful garment that I nonetheless decided to make.  It’s kind of a long lace cardigan.  The skirt is knit from lace-weight yarn doubled and the bodice and sleeves have the same yarn held singly.  Here’s one progress photo:

I’m using Knit Picks Shadow in Nocturne Heather.  The color is a little darker in real life.  This is the top of the skirt and the waistband.  I was making good progress on this until I held the skirt up against my body.  The waistband was huge!  It is important to me that the waist nips in.  I thought about just sewing in elastic later, but thought I should do it the right way.  It is an applied waistband, so it is worked across 19 stitches and attached to the live skirt stitches at every other row.  I guess my gauge for the leaf pattern was way off.  I ripped it out (and not for the first time…) and did 9 leaf repeats instead of 11.  When I was done I just needed to remember to pick up the right amount of stitches for my bodice size!  Hopefully this will start moving soon.  I just have the bodice left to do, the sleeves are done and ready to be attached.

The second project I’m working on is the Vivian hoodie by Ysolda Teague.  I’m using Cascado Eco in natural.  It is nice working with a bulky yarn, though I am using US7 needles, so it doesn’t seem to grow as quickly as I’d like!  I’ve got the body done up to the armpits and I am finishing up my first sleeve.  I am probably about halfway because I have a second arm, the yoke and the hood to do still.  I am following a few people’s notes on Ravelry and changing around the increases on the sleeves a bit.  For many, the sleeves are too long, too tight on the forearm and too loose on the upper arm.  So far mine seem a little snug, but I hope that won’t bother me later!  I think the length should be okay as I have long arms, but we shall see.

I am also going to extend the hood so that it is a wearable hood size.  This will be my first project where I put a zipper into my knitting!  I hope it goes well!

Now I need to start looking ahead to what I will start when I have finished these.  The Anthropologie group is doing a KAL for “Sweatshirt Style” so I might have to find a loose-fitting casual sweater to join in on that one.  I had planned on doing a colorwork cowl soon (probably this one, but I’m surprised there’s not more hearts because I looove it), but the weather seems to be changing, so I don’t know if that is really worth doing right now.  And I’ll have to start planning if I’m going to join in on the Skein After Skein Epic KAL/CAL.  That’s something like a Year of Projects, so I want to make sure I don’t start something early that will count for that.  They started out with it being projects from The Best of KnitScene book, but then decided to open it up beyond that.  I might still try to make all my projects be from KnitScene magazines though.  Oh yeah!  I was a guest (along with our friend Lisa) on their podcast a couple weeks ago.  Here‘s the episode.  It is always a little stressful hearing your own recorded voice and I don’t know if I came off that well, but enjoy!

Have a good weekend!  I will try to finish something up for next week!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Slow, slow, slow

  1. You’re really ambitious, Jill! I think you’re making GREAT progress on all of your projects. Can’t wait to see everything. Drop by Fairview again!

Leave a Reply

