Tasty Tuesday: Junior’s Deli

Happy New Year everyone! I don’t really do resolutions, but I do try to create a theme for each year. For example, a few years back was “not doing anything I don’t want to do.”. The theme the year following was, “re-engaging with society”. Ha. I haven’t quite figured out this year yet, but I think it’s going to be something about valuing myself. Which can mean many things, but the easiest to work on is not being a cheap bastard. Like using a full sheet on the lint roller and not eating potentially spoiled food. We’ll see how it goes. I could change my mind.

Sad news! Lucas and I happened to stop in at Junior’s for breakfast on Sunday and found out that they were closing! Yesterday was their last day. They had lost their lease after 53 years. They hope to reopen in the future. I’m going to be sad to see them go. They have great matzoh ball soup, though mediocre latkes. I wonder what will happen to their iconic signs.

20130101-170915.jpg

Because everyone else knew they were closing, it was a mad house. We decided to just order bagel sandwiches at the deli counter. Lucas ordered a bagel sandwich with cream cheese, tomato and onion. I felt a little rushed so I just got a bagel with cream cheese and lox. The guy asked what kind of lox I wanted and when I wasn’t sure, he said that Nova lox was what most people get. We also ordered some black and white cookies and rugelach to go. When we went to pay, I noticed that my lox bagel was $17! So crazy! I consider it our contribution to their re-opening fund. But holy crap that’s a lot for a bagel. It did end up being more like a lox plate, but still. I felt pretty obligated for it to be the best bagel I had ever had.

20130101-171727.jpg

It was delicious.

Junior’s will be missed! If not their lox prices…

20130101-172026.jpg

What’s your favorite Jewish deli in Los Angeles? And any resolutions? If you have a fitness resolution, come talk to me about Jazzercise classes!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Tasty Tuesday: Junior’s Deli

  1. THAT’s one of the main reasons that Junior’s is closing! It’s too damned expensive! For reasonable prices and excellent deli food, I like The Nosh on Little Santa Monica and Roxbury Dr. in Beverly Hills. Try the white-fish salad sandwich! Also, the bagels at The Nosh are chewy, big and delicious. Pick up some bagels then go to T. Joe’s and get their packaged lox and some cream cheese…..HEAVEN!

    • jborders

      I’ll have to try The Nosh. My boyfriend’s best friend used to work there when he was young, but I haven’t tried it yet. I’ve been going to Fromin’s a lot lately, but mostly because they keep doing Groupons.

      Lucas and I often meet up late Monday nights near the Westside Pavilion after our respective groups/activities and there is almost nothing open after 10pm in that area! I hope we don’t have to start going to Norm’s!

      Thank you for your good advice again! Jill

Leave a Reply

