FO: Ruby Slipper Socks

I started a pair of socks for my friend Christina, um, about a week before her birthday.  I guess I knew that I wasn’t going to finish them on time, but I could have just been delusional.  She is a huge Wizard of Oz fan, so when I saw this pattern a couple years ago I knew that I needed to make them for her.  But I never remembered until right before a gift giving situation.  But this time I made it happen!  They were only a few weeks late…

Image

Rav page here.

Pattern: Dorothy’s Ruby Slippers by Melissa Dominguez

Yarn: Knit Picks Stroll Glimmer in Fiesta and Knit Picks Stroll in Wonderland, less than 50gms each.

Needles: US0 DPNs

Start Date: November 18, 2012

Finish Date: December 7, 2012

Mods: None.  I maybe should have made them a little wider though because these were a little snug on my feet, and she is a couple shoe sizes larger than me.  I would also knit the cuff for longer than 5″ so that it is a little taller when folded over. 

I had thought about making them Wicked Witch socks instead of Dorothy socks and striping black and white instead of the blue.  But I kind of forgot, and I had already bought the blue.  These are using the “intarsia in the round” method.  Which means that when you get to the colorwork section, you begin knitting back and forth in rows, but kind of connecting the sides together as you go (using yo’s and decreases).  I realize that sounds not totally clear.  It is real intarsia, but kind of fake circular knitting.  Which means that half of these socks were purled.  That’s fine, but I find I get a sore spot on one of my fingers when purling with small gauge needles.  It slowed my progress a little bit.  When you finish knitting the sock, it just looks like you are wearing a flat (only a U shape in the front), but you duplicate stitch the bow on.  This is a little tedious, but made the knitting much simpler with only three balls at a time at most.  I meant to get an interim picture but forgot.

Image

I think they turned out cute.  I used to knit socks all the time and have been kind of out of it recently.  I don’t know if this turned me back on to it, to be honest!  Sometimes they just feel like so many stitches to put into just a pair of socks.  I’m going to work on some garments for a while, and then maybe I’ll get back to them. 

As for my other crafty holiday projects?  One is completed and a total success and the other is a sewing project that I was too ambitious on.  I spent a bunch of hours on it and am probably just going to throw in the towel.  Maybe I need to head out to the mall to get a present to replace that one…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

