FO: Fremont Bridge Coffee Cozies

I’m still going on with my parade of knitting for other people.  What is with that?  I am totally ready to get selfish.  If only there weren’t other handmade items I was thinking about making for Christmas.  Aaargh!

I saw a notice on Ravelry a few weeks ago that Portlandia was looking for crafters to make coffee cup cozies for them to distribute as a promotion for the show.  You had to submit a picture of your creation to them, and they would decide if they wanted to commission any cozies.  They said you could make up to 20, and they would pay $10 each.  But if you read the fine print, it also said that they owned the design.  I just decided that that was dumb and didn’t act on it.  But when I mentioned it to Lucas, he suggested making something so Portland themed that I wouldn’t want to do anything else with the pattern.  He came up with the idea of using the image of the Fremont Bridge.  It is a somewhat iconic bridge in Portland.  Of course I basically grew up in Portland and I said, “which one is the Fremont Bridge again?”  So “iconic” is up for debate.

I submitted my design a few days before Thanksgiving.  I wasn’t totally happy with it, but I was just a little dejected when I didn’t hear from them.  But at least a week later I heard that they were interested.  At some point they had changed the maximum to 10 instead of 20.  But I only had a week to get them made, blocked and delivered to IFC!

I made 10 of them in about 4 days.  That doesn’t sound like that much, but it was a little tight with work and all.

Project ravelled here.

Pattern: my own

Yarn: Knit Picks Telemark in Fjord Heather and Cascade 220 in Natural, I used about 200 yds of the MC and 60 yds of the CC, for all 10 cozies.

Needles: US6 DPNs

Start Date: Nov 27, 2012

Finish Date: Dec 1, 2012

I wish it was easier to see the whole design from the front of the cup.  This is a bit of a panorama.

I also don’t know why I always design colorwork that has to have giant floats.  It’s pretty obnoxious.  I am really not sure if IFC owns my design or not.  I noticed other people sending in cozies that they had not designed in any way.  If anyone is interested in my pattern/chart, I’d be happy to send it to them.  I wish the cozies were getting distributed in Portland so that maybe the recipient would have a chance of knowing what the image represented!

Not my greatest accomplishment, but it’ll be pretty sweet when they send me that $100 in 4-6 weeks. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

