FO: Drift Cabled Blanket

Hi all,

I hope you had a a wonderful holiday weekend.  I went to Palm Spring with some friends and had a great time lounging out by the pool.  I am plugging away at projects and not making much progress.  But!  I did finally finish this baby blanket that was weighing me down.

My Rav page: here.

Pattern: Drift by tincanknits

Yarn: Naturally Tussock 10-ply in Oatmeal, just over 7 skeins.

Needles: 4.5mm, US7

Start Date: November 2, 2012

Finish Date: November 18, 2012

This was actually a very lovely pattern.  The pattern has directions for a triangular shawl and a rectangular blanket, knit in aran weight yarn.  My version is done in a tweed-ish yarn so the cables don’t look as clean as if done in a solid yarn.  The yarn has a thick wool ply with a novelty polyester thread plied with it, causing a tweed/marled look.  I had this yarn in my stash from years ago, and I think it is one of the colors that makes me look sick so I decided I didn’t need to save it for a sweater.

The pattern was very straight-forward.  For some reason this was a bit of a labored project for me.  I was knitting as a gauge a little denser than the yarn wanted to be knit up at (though still much looser than the ballband gauge…) and I had a lot of trouble moving the stitches around my cable.  I feel like I spent as much time rotating my stitches as I did actually knitting.  I did the cabling without a cable needle, but it was feeling really tight on those rounds.  When I went to block it, I realized that the cabled sections were extremely tight and restricted me from stretching the blanket out as much as I wanted to.  The cables basically form a rectangle in the middle of the blanket, and they refuse to be stretched out any larger.  If I were to do it again, I would use a size 8 for the whole thing, and a 9 for the cabled sections.  My final dimensions were about 3’x3′.

I wish I needed a baby present so this could go to good use.  Though, I did make it wool, so that it could be blocked into shape, but now I worry about what mother I could give this to that wouldn’t immediately shrink it in the wash.  After all my puking in Catalina the other week, my knitting group joked that I was making it for my own baby in nine months.  But no worries there. 🙂

This was my first test knit for the Free Pattern Testers group on Ravelry.  I enjoy test knitting, though I’ve only done few tests.  It is fun to see patterns early, plus there is a bit of a tech editor in me.  I like finding little errors.  But one drawback is feeling like you are on someone else’s time schedule instead of your own.  Right now I am trying to finish up some gift socks and make some coffee cozies for the Portlandia Co-Op.  Then it is all about selfish knitting!  I am a selfish knitter at heart, so can’t wait to get back to my bulging project queue.  Are you currently overwhelmed with holiday knitting?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “FO: Drift Cabled Blanket

  1. Georgie

    Great blanket, such a lovely colour! No holiday knitting over here this year, I decided not to knit anything for anyone as I’ve spent the last two Christmas days frantically finishing presents and it was not fun. I need to work at my own pace!
    Instead I’m on a dress-a-thon with two I want to finish in time for Christmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

