FO: Lace Jewelry Frame

I’ve currently been working on a test knit of a baby blanket that is taking up all of my crafting time!  I don’t know why I decided to do it.  But anyway, that’s why I haven’t really been finishing much recently.  Also, this blanket is in aran weight, so I don’t know why it is taking me so long.
But!  I did finish up a couple small projects before embarking on the blanket.  Back when I cut (shaved) part of my hair off, I decided to start wearing earrings again.  My earring collection went from one pair to about six pairs.  Still not very many, but it was creating a real mess around my jewelry box.  I decided to make a knit jewelry frame.

Nice lighting and framing on that picture, huh?

I found a cheap frame at Goodwill, for about $3 and took out the glass and backing.  I used this pattern from Stitch Diva.  It is a free pattern, but be forewarned that you will have to create a Stitch Diva account in order to download the .pdf.  You really can use any lace pattern that you want, but this pattern uses the Seafoam stitch pattern.  I used some leftover Dream in Color Starry (sparkly!) and had just enough.  Luckily the superwash yarn really stretched out to fit.  The purple fabric is something that I just had in the stash.  So really this just took a few hours and $3!

My Rav page here.

Pattern: Knitted Lace Jewelry Frame by Jennifer Hansen

Yarn: Dream in Color Starry in Pansy Golightly, about .15 skeins (70 yds)

Needles: US4

Start Date: October 10, 2012

Finish Date: October 20, 2012 (though it didn’t take very many hours).

It probably took the same amount of time to staple down the edges and make it look neat as it did to knit it.  My little rectangle of lace knitting looked like it wouldn’t fit at all, but the superwash really grew with washing and easily made it.  My frame is 10″x12″ so a bit bigger than the ones in the pattern.  I added on my earrings and my shawl pins.  Earrings with posts won’t fit on the frame really.  I got most of those big wood earrings dirt cheap from this seller on Etsy.

I need to figure out another system for all my necklaces.  Some jewelry frames add a button on to hang necklaces, but I have quite a few chunky ones that wouldn’t fit on there.  Maybe I should make an antler display like this one from A Beautiful Mess.  Or maybe I’ll mount on some old drawer pulls onto a piece of wood and call it a day.  How do you organize your jewelry?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

