FO: Dragonflies Jumper

 

Another Joji pattern done!  This was also done for the Joji KAL going on in her Ravelry group.  This is my second Joji sweater in a row.  I might take a breather, but I have already bought a pattern for a third…

My Rav page here.

Pattern: Dragonflies Jumper by Joji Locatelli

Yarn: Knit Picks City Tweed in Lemon Curd, 7.2 balls

Needles: US 7 for the body, and US6 for the garter edges.

Start Date: October 6, 2012

Finish Date: October 26, 2012

Mods:  Not many.  I had thought I would run out of yarn and would go with 3/4 length sleeves.  I ended up with more than enough yarn for the full length sleeves!  I did only 6 garter ridges on the neckline.  I like the high neck that the pattern calls for, but I had been worried about yarn consumption, and maybe this is more wearable for me.  I knit the first sleeve as written and found that it was really loose.  I just kept denying it to myself, right down to the wrist!  Before actually finishing the first sleeve, I decided to start the second sleeve with more frequent decreases.  I decreased every 8th row, as supposed to every 12th that my size called for.  I am really glad that I did, it made my sleeves much slimmer, but still loose enough for a long sleeve shirt underneath.

When I took this off the needles, the garter edging on the bottom was flaring out like crazy!  I even tightened up my bind-off a couple times.  I thought about ripping back and redoing it on the smaller needles like the other edgings.  But after a good blocking, it decided to behave itself.

Not much more to say.  This went fairly quickly.  Though I had heard about how quick it knit up, so 20 days ended up feeling like a long time!  Maybe if I hadn’t knit three sleeves…

This yarn is very soft.  I was kind of surprised when I pulled it out of the bag.  Much softer than other tweeds.  I did feel like the nepps were barely spun in, like I could easily just pick them all out.  It is soft against the skin, though I do feel some of the prickliness that alpaca can have.  I think this one will get lots of use once the weather finally changes.

Anyone have any good Halloween costumes ready for tomorrow?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

