FO: Vlad

Halloween is coming!  I am a big fan of the holiday.  Costumes, candy, all of it.  When I saw this pattern I knew that I wanted to make it.  Lucas’s cousin Wiley was coming to town and he was celebrating his 30th birthday.  Perfect occasion for a vampire that reverses into a bat… right?

Pattern: From Vlad to Bat by Justyna Kacprzak

Yarn: Cascade 220 in Natural and Black, Knit Picks Palette in Wallaby, doubled for wings

Hook: E/4  3.50mm

Start Date: Oct. 23, 2012

Finish Date: Oct. 24, 2012

He reverses to this little guy:

I used TOHO silver lined purple 6/0 beads for the bat eyes.  The nose is some pink cotton thread.

For Vlad’s eyes, I just made knots out of the black yarn and secured them in the back.  I added little bloody fangs made from red felt and glued on.

I think Wiley really liked it.  I went out for dinner with his family that was visiting, to Yamashiro restaurant overlooking Hollywood.  The views were amazing, especially because of the Santa Ana winds we’re having.  So clear.  During the summer they have a Farmer’s Market up there that is a lot of fun to go to.  Live music and food trucks.  Too bad that for dinner, you really just have to suck it up and pay for valet parking.  If you know me, you know that I hate to pay for parking ever!  The salmon that I had was delicious, though the restaurant is priced a little high.

You should make your own Vlad into Bat for Halloween!  But keep your eye on this guy.  You think it’s a cute, harmless little bat…

…and that’s when he sinks his teeth into you!

(Okay, not my best make-up job, but this was before work one morning)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “FO: Vlad

  1. jessicac

    Just sending a little congrats to Lucas… that Move on featured his video!
    Fantastic, and we loved it!

Leave a Reply

