FO: Boxy

Last week I finished up my Boxy sweater.

Pattern: Boxy by Joji Locatelli

Yarn: Knit Picks Palette in Haze Heather, 7 balls

Needles: 4.0mm, US6

Start Date: Sept. 1, 2012

Finish Date: Sept. 24, 2012

I didn’t make any mods to the pattern.  My swatch shrunk up a tiny bit while blocking, so I made sure to keep track of how many rows per inch there was after blocking.  Then I counted rows to establish how tall my piece was instead of measuring, knowing it would lose some length later.  I don’t know if I’ve ever done this much knitting for one garment!  Each rows was 390 stitches!  I am also not used to such a loose fitting sweater.  It took me a while to not feel dumpy wearing it.  But now I am really pleased with it.

I really like the reverse stockinette details at the shoulders.  If I was going to change anything, I might make my sleeves a little more fitted.  I can still take them in a little bit if I choose to.

The pattern mentioned it being cropped, but mine didn’t really turn out that way and I have the same dimensions.  Maybe it is my short waist.

I haven’t gotten much knitting done the last couple weeks.  I went the entire weekend without knitting a stitch!  And that hasn’t happened in years!  I do have some new projects to share with you later this week though.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “FO: Boxy

  1. This is lovely!! I really like the detailing on the shoulders.
    Beautiful colour too.

    • jborders

      Hi Anna,

      Thanks for the comment! I had some reservations about this shape, but this sweater has really grown on me!

      Jill

  2. Adrienne B.

    Jill, I really like that shape on you and shown in that warm, sunny setting!

  3. This is crazy! I was Googling for pictures of Haze Heather to see if I’d like it for a Boxy that I’m planning to knit! It looks amazing. You’ve inspired me to go with the same color. Thanks!

    • jborders

      Theresa,

      Thanks for the comment! I took a bit of a gamble on Haze Heather, but thought the color ended up very nice. And much easier on the checkbook than MadTosh Light for such a high yardage piece!

      Have fun making your Boxy! Jill

  4. Liz

    Hi Jill, I’m working on the right front shaping (shape neckline) right now and I don’t really like how the bind off stitches at the beginning of the 5th, 7th, and 9th rows look. It doesn’t look smooth. I can tell from pictures that the neck line rolls. Will that hide this or do you think I might be doing something wrong? Thanks for any input. Yours looks great! Liz

    • jborders

      Hi Liz,

      I had those noticeable steps too on the neck bindoff. After the neck is completely bound off, you are going to pick up stitches all around. This is where I try to smooth everything out, by choosing where to pick up stitches to hide those step corners. I looked at my neck, and it is more that than the rolling of the “collar” that hides it.

      If you’re still really unhappy with it, you could do short rows instead of binding off in stair steps. Then you can bind it all off in one go. I don’t have a good tutorial to point you too, but I’m sure if you google “short row neckline” or something like that you could find more information.

      Let me know if that was unclear. I’m sure you are doing it right. Stair step bind offs usually look a little wonky until you finish them off.

      Thanks for commenting Liz! You are so close to finishing your Boxy! Boy was that one a lot of knitting!

      Best, Jill

      • Liz Jarrett

        Hi Jill,

        Thanks so much for the help. I will keep on knitting…I see what you’re saying now with picking up the neck line. I read through the pattern and didn’t really put 2 and 2 together…woops! I am almost finished with the front! I can’t wait. Thanks again for the input and also for the great pictures!

        Liz

Leave a Reply

