Re-plying

I’ve gotten a few yarns done recently.  Two of them didn’t take too much time, because I was really just fixing some previous problems.

Here is some Acid-dyed Optim fiber that Jill P. helped me dye, um, 3 years ago:

The Optim really compacts, so the dye didn’t really penetrate through to all layers.  The yarn ended up being a little more pastel than the fiber.  I spun and plied the fiber into a laceweight yarn.  I have no idea how long ago.  But it’s been sitting in my in-progress pile since then.  The problem being that the finished yarn looked limp and dead.  Even though I put a fair amount of ply twist into it, the plies seemed to be drifting apart in sections.  I finally decided to do something about it.  I put the hank of yarn back on to my swift (a.k.a. my lampshade) and just fed it back through the wheel again.  This time I just added extra ply twist into it.  I had never done that before, but it worked like a charm!  I refinished the yarn and am totally happy with it now.

Of course, now I can’t remember how much fiber I used.  I keep meaning to getting new batteries for my scale and not doing it.  I’ll have to find a special project to use it on.  It can’t be more than 400yds.

Here’s a close-up:

Here’s another spinning project that needed a revamp.  This is an old picture, and I’m pretty embarrassed to show how crappy this looks.  This is two skeins of Ashland Bay Merino in Sandalwood and Purple:

The Sandalwood I am very happy with.  But take a closer look at that Purple.  Yuck!  Can you see how loosely plied some of it is?  I was also having some trouble with putting too much twist in my singles at the time.  This was a little more than three years ago.  I think I needed much more ply twist to counteract the singles twist.  I knew I wanted to use these yarns together, but the purple skein was in shambles!

I re-plied the purple skein, and much better!:

I was also realizing while plying, how much more even my spinning is now than it was three years ago.  Even though I don’t devote much time to it, I guess practice does make perfect.  I am now using these yarns together to make a handspun Scalene.  I have it set up so that the solid section of the scarf will be in purple.  I’m starting to regret this a little because I think the Sandalwood is a more interesting color.

I’m only partway through my Scalene.  I got sidetracked with a KAL in the Joji  group on Ravelry.  I’m knitting Boxy, and a giant oversized sweater in fingering weight is going to need all of my attention!  I’m worried it will be awhile before I have any finished items to show…

Any fun plans for the weekend?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Re-plying

  1. Gorgeous re-ply! Sometimes it takes more than one try 🙂

Leave a Reply

