FO: Little Obammies

Here is a little small project that has been causing me a lot of trouble!  Well, not trouble, but sometimes I just want to sit down and knit instead of thinking every step out.

Lucas has been working furiously on his Obama video project.  It is an animated support video that he is hoping will drum up some motivation among Democratic voters.  He has gotten a number of animators to help him by volunteering their time and skills.  I am going to make little thank you bags for each of his contributors.  This will be the main item.  I don’t know if they’ll be as excited about it as I am!

Without further ado, the Obammies!

Each one is about 3 inches tall.  They are not quite as cute as I intended, but the President doesn’t have to be cute, I suppose.

My Rav page here.

Pattern: My own, and forthcoming.

Yarn: Knit Picks Palette in Black, White, Doe Heather, and a few other miscellaneous.

Needles: US2 1/2

I plan on writing up the pattern, and either releasing it for free, or for a donation to the video or campaign.  The knitter should be familiar with knitting I-cord, working in the round, increasing and decreasing.  His shirt is done using stranded knitting, but could also be duplicate stitched.  Let me know if there’s any interest and I’ll start formatting my pattern.  I need to make one more Obama, but I might use the next one to make a step-by-step photo tutorial.

Also, is calling him Obammie come off offensive or dis-respectful?  He could just be called Tiny Obama.

Have a great weekend everyone!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “FO: Little Obammies

  1. I just saw these on Ravelry. They’re adorable. I love them! And I love Lucas’s project. Can’t wait to see the finished animation. I’m actually putting together a blog post of Obama-centric knitting patterns so I’d love to add your pattern to it once it’s written up. I want to make a little president of my own!

    • jborders

      Thanks Sarah!

      I’m going to write up the pattern soon and I’ll let you know when I publish. Thanks for checking out my blog!

      Jill

  2. Lisa

    Super cute! And I can’t wait until your album drops! Will you be signing autographs?

  3. PJ

    I’d gladly give a donation to get this cute little pattern. Thank you for sharing this. This is one reason why I love ravelry!!

Leave a Reply

