Tasty Tuesday: Egg and Cheese Bagel Sandwich

Saturday night Lucas and I met up with some of his friends that were visiting from Sweden and with Lauren and Dylan for drinks.  Afterwards I got roped into dancing and tequila shots with the visiting Swedes.  I think this would have been more fun if I had planned accordingly and didn’t have a huge shoulder bag purse with me the whole time.  And we had walked, so I couldn’t just leave my purse in the car.  This is just a rambling introduction to explain why I slept in until 11am the next day with a slight hangover and a craving for greasy food.  Enter the bagel sandwich:

Lucas and I happened upon Thai Garden, a Marina del Rey food stand a few months ago after we went parasailing.  This food stand sells sandwiches, ice cream and Thai food.  Kind of weird.  They also happen to make the best Egg and Cheese Bagel Sandwiches!  I can not vouch for the Thai food.  I usually wouldn’t drive out of my way for a breakfast sandwich, but have had trouble finding other bagel sandwiches around.  Lucas would characterize it as a “bodega-style” bagel sandwich, a la New York.  I haven’t been to New York City in about ten years since looking into grad schools (ten years ago!?!) so can’t speak to that.  All I know is they manage to use cheap grocery store bagels and cheese food and turn it into the world’s greatest bagel.  I think they use a lot of butter or oil.  It’s also a nice little area on the Marina.

They were setting up for some live music when we got there.  There is a deli right next to it, in a lighthouse-shaped building.  It makes me feel like I’m in Arrested Development.  Though I think Arrested Development is set in Newport Beach, not Marina del Rey.  It’s like we’re at the banana stand!

We took our frozen banana for a little walk.  And on one of the boat slips were all these pelicans!  And you can barely tell, but there were also two seals, or maybe they were sea lions!  It felt like we were on vacation in another city.

There is so much to do in Los Angeles.  This was all just a couples miles from Lucas’s place in Venice.  Next time we’ll ride our bikes there.  I should have gotten more pictures of the sandwich, but I think you get the idea.  I’m going to have to try to make one myself at home.  I think the trick is butter…  Do you know of other places around town for a good bagel sandwich?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

