Questionable color choices

I have recently been working on some multiple color projects that are on the edge of good taste.  There’s something about them that I like, but I have no idea if other people were going to think they were disgusting or not.  I rely a lot on my Culver City Stitch ‘n’ Bitch group to give me feedback.  I don’t feel like I can be trusted on my own!  Which leads me to my latest finished project:

My Ravelry Page

Pattern: Astrid by Joji Locatelli

Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted in American Beauty (pink) and Frank Ochre (yellow)

Needles: US8

Start Date: July 5, 2012

Finish Date: July 15, 2012

I am happy with how it turned out.  I ended up liking the color combination.  It felt a little Mexican to me.  Slightly garish, but hopefully not too much so.  I used the leftovers from Lucas’s Pennant Scarf.  I would approximate that I used 3/4 of a skein of each of the colors.  Probably a little more yellow than pink.  Yes, the scarf curls like crazy.  I suppose I knew that it would, going in to it.

I did most of the bobbles in a couple days.  During this time I watched a bunch of episodes of Girls on HBO Go and Cocoon.  I had never seen the original Cocoon.  Here’s something that is pretty trippy: Wilford Brimley was only 50 years old when he was in that movie!  What?!  For whatever reason, I’ve been thinking about aging a lot lately.  And this is one of those facts that can really scare the bejeezus out of you.  Or maybe it should be encouraging that he’s looked the same for the last 30 years.

Baaack to the scarf.  The pattern has you knit all the bobbles first.  Then you pick up the stitches along the edge and work short rows to get a crescent shape.  I had a little bit of confusion at first about picking up the stitches.  I am used to picking up stitches in the garter ridges when picking up off a garter piece.  For this guy, in order to pick up the right amount of stitches, you need to either modify that, or pick up stitches as if it was off of a stockinette fabric.  Because you need to pick up 3 out of every 4 rows.  I picked up the stitches in the ladder between the edge stitch and the one next to it.  I guess like I would normally, but without letting the purl stitches confuse things.

The only modification I made, was to add an extra bobble on either end of the picot bind-off, so that there was one on each point.

 

I have also been swatching for my Ravellenic Games project.  I am going to knitting the Sparkle! Dress.  I have wanted to make it for a long time, and I bought some Knit Picks Telemark a couple years ago for it.  I have swatched and am ready.  Unless everyone thinks its a gross color combination.  Here’s my swatch:

Okay, so I don’t think it’s gross.  But it does maybe seem a little blah.  I kept describing it as “mealy” though I am not sure what I meant by that.  Like the “fjord heather” is the blue equivalent to mauve.  It is potentially nicer looking in the picture than in real life.  It would just be a shame to make a whole dress in a bland color combination.  But…  I did already buy the yarn just for it, which makes me want to continue using this yarn.

I joined the Knit Picks fan group for the Games.  It was kind of last minute, but it works out well because I’m using KP yarn.  I hope I’ll be able to get it done in time!  I’m clearing my knitting slate of projects so that I’ll be able to focus on it.  Are you knitting anything for the Ravellenic Games?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Questionable color choices

  1. Who wants to wear only the unexpected? Hooray for unusual colour combinations! Go for it …. =D

  2. Yeahhhhh, I’m kinda drawn to that Astrid scarf you made. I love the color combination. Its bright and fun and unexpected!

Leave a Reply

