Catching up on projects

Jill P.:

Everytime I think about blogging I feel bad that it’s been so long, but then I feel overwhelmed about what I’m going to show.  It becomes this horrible cycle of guilt and continual non-posting.  But finally, I’m getting to it.

I’ve been keeping on schedule with knitting a pair of socks a month.  These are the pairs that I knit in July and August.  First up is the Spot Check Socks from Knitting Socks from Handpainted Yarn designed by Beth Parrott.

Mine are a little more subdued than the ones shown in the book.  I think I like that the look is subtle.  Also, these are the only yarns I had in the stash that worked together.  The blue is Cherry Tree Hill Supersock in Navy and the green is Claudia Handpaints in the Jungle colorway.  This was for the Sock Knitters Anonymous colorwork challenge in July.  The pattern is stranded, but alternating every stitch, so very simple.  I used the medium size for my size 8 1/2 feet.  Very comfortable.

Next, were also for the SKA July challenge, but finished in August.  The challenge was knitting a pattern by a SKA member.  I chose the Bacchus socks by Alice Bell.  These were in Interweave Knits, Fall 2008.  I used ShibuiKnits Sock in Taupe.

Being shown with a view of my parents’ backyard in Washington.  I was very happy with how these turned out.  Baby’s first bobbles. I was worried they would be too bulky in shoes, but I wore them with Converse with no problems.  My second skein of yarn was slightly different from the first, even though they were the same dyelot.  It had little spots of brown on it.  When you look at that sock close-up, it kind of looks like dirt.  As always, I find projects with elaborate charts addicting.  You can’t stop at the end of a repeat, you have to keep on going!

I was visiting my parents because I went to my high school reunion.  I was pretty nervous about going.  I was never very popular.  Somewhere in the middle I guess.  I ended up getting kind of defensive and extremely jokey-jokey.  I could feel myself being obnoxious but couldn’t really stop it.  It was good getting back in touch with people I haven’t seen in quite a while.  I reconnected with my friend Trisha who was my best friend in 7th grade/middle school.

I also learned that one of my best friends is 6 months pregnant with twins!  I hadn’t heard from her much in the last year, so this was a real shock.  Since I last talked with her, she’s met someone, gotten married, gotten pregnant and moved across the country.  Crazy.  Of course I am working on sweaters for the babies.  I want to make more than that, but don’t think I’ll make the deadline.

I’ve got more to show, but am getting tired.  The last thing for this post will be the Aeolian Shawl that I finished last month. 

Pattern: Aeolian Shawl by Elizabeth Freeman at Knitty.com

Yarn: Malabrigo Lace in Intenso.  I used a smidgen more than 2 skeins.  If I hadn’t doubled the yarn on the bind-off I would have made it with no problem.  Luckily Melissa had just finished her Sweet Lily Shawl with the same yarn and had leftovers. 

I made mine a little bit smaller than the full shawl.  I did only 8 repeats of the Yucca chart instead of the 12 it calls for.  I followed the shawl directions for the rest of it.  7 stitch nupps.  (Anyone else having trouble calling them “noups” like Nancy Bush?  Everytime I have to say both ways.  “I’m doing 7 stitch noups…you know, nupps”)  I used purple Toho silver-lined 8/0 beads throughout.  They are always hard to see in pictures. 

I had a hell of a time blocking this out.  I forgot it had the swooping U shape on the top and tried to block it out in a straight line.  Then I had no room to pin out all the points.  I had to keep readjusting all my pins and by the time I was finishing (2 + hours later) the shawl was mostly dry.  I had to spray it with water again.  I may go back one day and try for sharper points.  Overall though, I am happy happy with it.  Love it. 

I like styling shawls like this, but it seems a little ridiculous.  Why go through all that work, just to wad it up in a ball around your neck.  We’re all fighting the dowdiness of a lace shawl I guess.  Making it all casual, like a kerchief.  It does bother me when it’s the picture for the pattern.  You can’t even tell what the pattern looks like when it’s all wrapped around like that.  Despite this mini-rant, this is totally the way I wear them out on the town.  Like I’m putting on a elaborately knit lobster bib. 

More soon!  Oh, and I need to either find a new roommate, or find a new place to live.  Let me know if anyone has any Los Angeles apartment leads!  Also, I can’t pay very much for said apartment.  Thanks!

Jill B.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Catching up on projects

  1. Hi Jill,
    I’m glad I found your blog here. I love your aeolian shawl and it is truly more gorgeous live at the Guild’s Show and Tell. See you at the Christmas party.

    Loan

Leave a Reply

