Lace stockings

Hey Jill P.:

I’ve been slogging through a sweater, but it is taking forever!  But I did just finish up another project that I’m eager to show off. 

It is the #31 Lace Stockings by Mari Muinonen/Tikru that were in the Vogue Knitting Spring/Summer 2009.

The yarn was Knit Picks Essential Kettle-Dyed in Eggplant.  I used a bit more than two balls.  It took me about a month to do the pair. 

There was a bit of a delay initially because Vogue didn’t publish all of the charts in the magazine.  And there was some lag time in getting it up on the website.  They went pretty quickly.  A nice thing about lace socks is there are so few stitches.  I usually use DPNs but I used two circulars for most of these.  The lace pattern on the front doesn’t divide in half easily, so it was better to have them all on one needle. 

If I were going to do them again, I would use a smaller gauge than recommended for the foot and ankle.  I went with 6st/in and the foot was a little loose for me.  I went down a needle size for the ankle and went back to the called for needle for the calf.  It was exciting not to have to make these bigger than called for.  I would also have put in one or two more repeats of the main lace pattern.  I think I would have liked a taller stocking. 

And I thought the Bettie’s Stockings looked trampy!

Yikes!  I imagine I’ll be wearing these with longer skirts.

There were a few small mistakes in the charts.  On the left side of Row 19 on Chart 2, there is, if I remember correctly, an extra stitch.  Also on the left tip of the leaf/flower, it is sometimes a K3tog and sometimes a K3tog tbl. 

I had some difficulty with the elastic at the top of the leg.  I first tried weaving clear elastic bands through the “eyelet rows” at the top of the stocking.  But there aren’t really any eyelet rows, and that just wasn’t working for me.  I ended up using some black elastic sewing thread.  On a non-cabled row, I would thread the elastic through the stitches on the needle like a lifeline.  Then I would knit the stitches as normal.  Except if there was a yo in the row that I thread through, then I knit the stitch and the elastic together.  This way the thread is pulled up with the stitch and is not just going horizontally across the yarnover.  It was too late for the first stocking, so I just thread the elastic through the back of the fabric in maybe 5 sections.  I just knotted the elastic together at the end of the rounds.  I needed to make it quite snug to stay up on my leg.  If there was no elastic, the stocking would eventually just make its way down to my ankle.  And by eventually I mean, like in two minutes.  Here’s a close-up of the first stocking where I didn’t put the elastic in while knitting:

You can still see the elastic, but I decided it was good enough.  I tried knitting the elastic thread in, but I wasn’t able to pull the elastic taut enough to do any good. 

Overall I’m pleased with them.  I hope they get some use.  Other than that I just started my Petal Halter, and am still working on the Mosiac Yoke Jacket.  I also have a baby present to get to really quickly.  It is going to be a girl and she’s due in two weeks!  I have no idea what to make! 

Jill B.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Lace stockings

  1. Vy

    They are so cute, and I think only *you* can see the elastic. I didn’t really pick up on it even after you said it was there 🙂 Oh, and I *love* the shoes!

  2. Magdalena

    Can I be nosy and ask what needle sizes you used and what shoe size and calf circumference you have? I think the stockings look totally fabulous on you, and I’m hoping that the pattern will work on me as well 😀

  3. Pingback: Ob la di, ob la da… « Pink Espresso

  4. Chii c

    Hey I’m knitting these myself right now–lovely pattern…would you mind giving some help to a confused knitter? I just finished the foot and I’m onto Chart 2 for the Gusset, but I have no idea how to make the 3-into-9 flower, as there are no instructions in the directions. Perhaps it’s obvious, but I am a bit rusty on reading chart symbols/patterns. If you have a moment, could you give a quick explanation of how to make that very essential flower? I’d be eternally grateful!

    • jborders

      Hi!

      I thought there were some pithy directions in the glossary, but maybe not. I found a post I had made on Ravelry about this very topic:

      You know how a kfb creates two stitches out of one? Or how you can do a double increase out of one stitch? (k1,yo,k1 in one stitch). This is the same kind of concept. Pretend those three stitches are three strands of one stitch. If you did a kfb into that, you’d get 3 stitches decreased into 2. But instead you knit into the 3 strand unit, without taking the stitch off, bring your yarn to the front (yo), and knit into it again. Then bring your yarn to the front, and knit into it, etc., until you have 9 stitches on your right needle. Then you let it drop off the left needle. I hope that wasn’t just more confusing. (My kfb analogy isn’t quite right, since you won’t be knitting into the back leg at all. It’s more like the double increase).

      I hope this is helpful. Feel free to email back if you have more questions!

      Jill

      • Chii C

        Oh my goodness, the world makes sense!! Thanks for the quick response and illuminating aid–I probably would have toiled over that one for ages. Seems a bit silly now! 🙂

        Happy knitting and thanks again.

Leave a Reply

