Converting soles

Jill P.:

Here is the other finished project I was telling you about.  They are the Bettie’s Lace Stockings.  I have decided to call them my Flower Lace Stockings, because the double possessive was a little annoying, and I think the stitch motif looks like flowers.  This was one of those rare projects were I started as soon as I got the magazine.  I’ve been working on knee socks for a while, with not good results.  But these didn’t take any more yarn than regular socks.  And they were a perfect occasion to use my STR Raven yarn!

Pattern: Bettie’s Lace Stockings by Hana Jason from Interweave Knits Spring 2009

Yarn: Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks that Rock Lightweight in Korrpi, a smidge under 1 skein.

Sorry for the trampy pictures, but all of the ones with me standing were from a crazy angle and out of focus.  I will maybe change the ribbons but I am not buying things and I wanted them to be finished.

So now the mods.  After getting all excited about the pattern I realized that the pattern goes all the way around the foot.  Those little flowers are a little chunky and probably not comfortable underfoot.  I decided to make the soles solid.  After I did the short row toe, I increased a total of four stitches over two rows on the bottom half.  With a gauge of 6st/in this should match half of my foot circumference.  I worked straight until I got to the heel.  Because the sole is solid it was not as stretchy as the top of the foot.  I ended up doing 2 extra repeats than in the pattern.  From what I’ve been reading on Ravelry, this was not uncommon even with lacy soles.  I did some discreet decreasing before and after the short row heel to get me back to the right number of stitches. 

On the top of the foot, I had K, P, 4 st of feathered fagoting, P,  10 sts of narrow gathered lace, P, 4 sts of feathered fagoting, P, K.  This centered the lace motif over the foot and was a lot less confusing than the pattern directions to center.  I also didn’t pay enough attention and did k2tog instead of ssk.  Is that regular fagoting?  Maybe.

Here is an in-progress shot that kind of shows the sole.  With a solid bottom you lose out on the cool flower on the side of the heel, but I’ll live with it. 

Next came my calf mods.  It is no secret that I have curvy calves.  After some experimentation, I figured out the best rate of calf increases for me.  After about 9 repeats, I switched to the wide lace pattern and went up a needle size.  I knit a few more repeats and increased another needle.  Then finally, I switched needle sizes again.  Ending with a US4!  Finally it could comfortably fit on my calf.  I ended up with something like 20 repeats on the leg total.

I spent a couple of nights on the top edging.  The purl rows they call for with a picot bind-off were way too loose.  It was comical.  I tried knit rows on a smaller needle and then the picot.  But the picot just looked a little too cutesy.  Not as good as some others I’ve seen.  Ultimately I ended up with a couple knit rows, a yo row, then 3 more knit rows and a EZ sewn bind-off.  The top rolls down a tiny bit, but not much because of the ribbon.  I’m happy with the simpler edging. 

And that’s the whole story!  I don’t know when I’ll wear them, but they aren’t too chunkifying for knee socks so they might make it out. 

Hope you’re having a good weekend!

Jill B.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Converting soles

  1. I love these! I need to find this pattern and make some myself 🙂

  2. sulafaye

    Goodness, those are fantastic! I hope they do make it out of the house–and I want to see pictures!

  3. I looove the trampy pics and it was really cool to see the socks in person the other night. I can’t believe all the mods you made. I would never have been able to figure that out!

  4. Karen M.

    Do you take commissions? I would adore a pair of these. If you do please email me ^_^.

Leave a Reply

