Halloween wrap-up

Jill P.:

This has been kind of a crazy week!  Saturday night was my Halloween party.  I had a good time, but I was a little disappointed in the turn-out because I invited a lot of people and there ended up only being 10 people.  But I still enjoyed myself.  I’m glad that a couple of my knitting friends showed up. =)  This definitely has me questioning when I will ever throw another party.  It was quite a bit of work.  I love costumes though, so it was worth it.

For years I have wanted to dress up like Bjork.  This year I finally did it (if maybe a few years too late).  I made a replica of the swan dress.  It’s not perfect, but I was pretty happy with how it turned out.

I made the neck and face out of felt.  The face and beak took me quite a while, especially given my questionable sewing skills.  There are plastic eyes on both sides of the swan head, even though one side is safety pinned to my top.  I glued feathers onto the neck with Tacky Glue.  I used 6 yards of crinoline for the skirt.  I sewed a thread through the top of the netting and then gathered it into the width of my waist.  I did this for three layers, with a marginal difference in length between each layer.  I sewed these gathered layers onto a cylinder of plain muslin.  I realized that I needed something underneath or you could see straight through the layers!  I put a casing and ribbon drawstring through the top of the cylinder/skirt so that I could cinch it around my waist.  I also used maybe 2 yards of tulle for the very top layer.  I needed kind of a buffer so it didn’t seem so stark of a difference between my waist and the skirt.  For that I took a ribbon the size of my waist and tied strips of tulle to it.  Ideally this would have been a little fuller, but I didn’t really plan ahead.

I really wanted to get a nude bodysuit to wear underneath.  Like the kind that figure skaters wear.  I found one online for $9, but the shipping was going to be $8.50 so I declined on principle.  I took the guys at work on a wild goose chase through the seedy stores on Hollywood Blvd looking for something similar but no luck.  I had even bought sequins to sew onto the bodysuit.  I imagined sewing snaps onto the swan and the bodysuit for future use.  Then I realized that I was going overboard and decided to use a nude camisole I already had and just use safety pins.  Sometimes I really need to pull myself back.

I was planning on doing more “Bjork” make-up.  Or at least trying to use lipstick to make my lips look like a little pout, but ran out of time.  Oh well.

(There you and Brian are in the background!)

Here’s one of Adrienne and Kevin.  He is dressed like House and she pulled together an Indian outfit.

But what I got really excited about was Paquito’s annual costume.  He is such a good sport about wearing stuff.  This year I made him a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle costume.  He is dressed as Michelangelo.

I adapted the Sheldon pattern to fit him.  I knit the shell as written, but doubled up worsted weight yarn.  I used Vanna’s Choice and Wool Ease Worsted, knit on size 10 needles.  Instead of making the bottom panel with leg openings, I just knit a stockinette rectangle to go under his mid-section.  I attached this when I did the applied I-cord.

I had some left-over orange batik fabric from my Counterpane bag.  I made a belt for him, and also a little eyemask.  The mask itself is made from orange felt and I sewed two ties onto it.  As you would guess it is very hard to keep a mask on a cat.  Just the structure of their head is enough of an impediment.  There was no way I could just tie it behind his head.  I made him some little nunchuks out of black construction paper and safety pins.

At some point before the party Miely was so tired I was able to put the mask up to her face for a picture:

Miely also tried on Paquito’s Freddy Krueger costume from last year:

Lots of fun.  I should probably start thinking about costumes for next year…

Also this week was my birthday and Election Day!  Of course I am very excited about the outcome from yesterday.  But at the same time I’m really disappointed that Prop 8 is going to pass.  I didn’t think it would in California.  It seems so shitty to pass something that begins, “Eliminates rights…”  And it was so windy last night my power was off for 6 hours!  I couldn’t get into my garage, I had to park a few blocks away from my apartment.

Hopefully I’ll have more of a serious knitting project to show you soon,

Jill B.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Halloween wrap-up

  1. sulafaye

    I think if ever there was an occasion for an ROFL, it’s Paquito’s TMNT costume! (You look great too, by the way). That’s fabulous!

  2. OMG I *love* the cat’s costume! I cannot believe he let you subject him to that, I hope you gave him lots of extra treats! Wish my pup would let me dress him up . . .

Leave a Reply

