FO: Protopretty DNA Tank

Jill P:

I have been all over the place recently on my knitting.  I’m usually a one or two project at a time person, but right now I have like six things going!  For myself, I have the Road to Golden sweater, the Ruffled Shrug, and the Firestarter socks.  I started a scarf for a coworker and need to start my Special Olympics scarf.  I have been working pretty frantically on Halloween costumes for myself and for Paquito.  I think mine is done (required no knitting) and am almost done with Paquito’s.  I hope he turns out cute.  I don’t want to give away any secrets.  After my Halloween party on Saturday I’ll share pictures with everyone. 

I feel like it’s been forever since I’ve finished a project.  I completed the Protopretty DNA Tank about a month ago.  The pattern can be found here

I used the Bouton D’Or yarn that you brought me back from Paris.  It wasn’t until planning on starting it that I realized I had much less yarn than the pattern required.  I decided to go ahead anyway, and I ended up modifying the top quite a bit to make it work.  My gauge was looser than the pattern, so I made the small size to compensate.  I converted the pattern into the round.  This didn’t cause any problems on the cable panel, but was a little weird on the lace panels.  The lace panel is charted and written out.  The two did not match.  I ended up following the chart.  If I had been knitting back and forth though I would have been pretty confused by the chart.  A lot of reversing double decreases and stuff.  But mine seems to look the same as the other people that worked it flat. 

When I got to the armholes, I bound off for a racerback top.  I just kind of fudged it.  Decreasing down into the skinny section and then increasing before splitting the two sections off for straps.  I angled the straps so they would meet the straps in the front.  I made the top more scoopnecked than in the original pattern.  I just bound off for the neck earlier and decreased my straps down more.  I was pretty much fudging it, so it’s not precisely even on each side.  I tried to keep the torchon lace pattern centered within the straps.  Then I grafted the tops of the straps together. 

I picked up along the armholes and the neck and knit for a couple rows then bound off.  I used almost all of the yarn.  Just a tiny ball left, maybe 10 yards. 

The top probably could have benefitted from a few seams.  The bamboo grows like crazy.  I suspected it would, but it’s starting to look a little sloppy around the armholes.  I am happy with how the project turned out, but for whatever reason it is very unflattering.  I think it has to do with the horizontal nature of the DNA cable.  As soon as I put it on I notice fat rolls and it looks like I have muffin top in all these pictures.  Which doesn’t mean I’ll stop wearing it, but I am definitely a little self-conscious in it. 

Project specs:  Bouton D’Or Bamboo in Grappe, 5 skeins 445yd.  US 4 Needles.  Started August 26, finished Sept. 21, 2008.

In other news I went to Hawaii last week with my family.  It was my Mom’s birthday so we all met up and spent about 9 days on Hawai’i and Oahu.  The Big Island was really great and we went to the volcano and saw the lava flow into the ocean (from a long way away =( ).  It was a lot of fun.  I won’t bore you with specifics, but here’s a few pictures of the trip:

And my favorite zoo sign ever:

There are more at my Flickr account if anyone’s interested. 

Oh, and it’s almost our one year anniversary!  I have to check out the archives but I think it’s close.  I remember it was sometime around my birthday (hint hint =)). 

See you at the party!

Jill B.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “FO: Protopretty DNA Tank

  1. Jill!
    that is the CUTEST tank! Love it. Thanks again for coming to our WeHo Stitch ‘n Witch last night!
    Photos to follow on my blog soon!

Leave a Reply

