Up the coast without a companion

Jill P:

I’m pretty behind on updates.  I’ve been meaning to show you all the stuff I bought and did on my mini-vacation.  But now it seems so long ago it’s almost not worth mentioning.

In August I decided to challenge myself and went on a vacation by myself.  I had a lot of grand schemes for it, but it ended up being only 5 days.  I drove up the coast, and ended somewhere around Morro Bay.  The first night I stayed at the house of a spinning guild friend, Edith, in Santa Barbara.  She was very hospitable, and I brought my wheel so we could spin together.  Of course after that it just sat in the back seat of my car taking up space.  I did some shopping in Santa Barbara and walked around on the pier.

I went to three yarn stores and they were all very nice.  But my favorite one was Loop & Leaf.  I bought some Shibui sock yarn and some Habu.  I visited the Santa Barbara Mission and went on the self-guided tour.

Mission exterior:

And interior courtyard:

I stopped in Solvang, the Danish village, and had lunch and went to Village Spinning.  I was thinking about buying a plying head, but they only had the special edition one.  It’s such a cute little town.  I made a few detours near Solvang.  Including Ostrich Land:

(not really worth the 4 dollar admission price!)

And the Quicksilver Miniature Horse Ranch!  It was just a quick self-guided tour but the little horses are adorable.

I had thought about staying in hostels and flying by the seat of my pants, but that didn’t happen.  There aren’t really any hostels in California, and I got nervous.  So I booked the cheapest hotel I could in the Central Coast area.  Which ended up being in Morro Bay.  This is what $40 a night buys you:

There’s something tacky about a hotel room with a fridge and microwave in it, but boy did it come in handy!  A little dirty, but not too bad.  This is the scene of my Ravelympics knitting, at least for three nights of the challenge.

I made a few day trips.  I drove up to Hearst Castle and took the basic tour.  I was hoping I’d get special treatment for working on the Hearst Newsreel Collection here at work, but no dice.  =)  The setting of the house is so beautiful.  I really loved the guesthouse and the grounds.  But the main house is pretty tacky.  Very garish and overdone.

The view of the ocean:

The pool:

The guesthouse:

And some parts of the main house.  Photography skills not included:

Well, all the rest of them are even worse than that one.

I did some antique shopping in Cambria.  Which set me on my mission to get a Keane print.  Mission accomplished.  I bought “The Stray” off ebay when I got home.  I went to San Luis Obispo one day and just hung out.  I went to Morro Fleece Works and bought some pin-drafted rovings.

Shetland/Silk:

Rambouillet/Ingeo:

And Rambouillet/Alpaca/Silk:

I also went to Paso Robles for the Olive Festival.  I tasted olive oils and had a very tasty tamale.  I bought some crazy balsalmic vinegars too.  One is red apple and the other is peach.  So good.  But I’m not really sure what to use them on.

I had planned on just touching on my vacation and then talking about recent knitting projects, but I went overboard.  I’ll save the knitting for the next post.  It was kind of nice being on my own schedule for this trip, but I definitely prefer to go places with other people.  I got kind of bored in the evenings, and I didn’t make the effort I thought I would to socialize with locals and be outgoing.  And I started getting really cheap and trying to eat super frugally.  Plus a lot of the restaurants were expensive seafood restaurants.  I had to search for something in my price range.  And who wants to go to a nice restaurant just to sit by themselves and read a book?

Talk to you soon!

Jill B.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Up the coast without a companion

  1. That was very brave of you to take a trip by yourself. I’ve done it a few times and it’s OK. I agree about being alone for dinner though. During the day, it’s fine, but at night, you want to talk about your day with SOMEONE!

    Have you ever been to NittWitt Ridge? It’s in Cambria and it’s the ANTI-Hearst Castle!

Leave a Reply

