Banjoes and haircuts

Jill P.

I’m awfully behind on filling you in on events (Not as behind as you, ahem. =) ).  I thought I’d finally blog about the Topanga Banjo and Fiddle Festival.  Right before you went out of town I demoed at the festival.  I kept trying to talk myself out of it.  I called my Mom looking for her to tell me not to go.  Of course she just tried to talk me into it.  I had been on the verge of getting the flu, it was really hot out, Topanga was far away and I just was plain lazy.  But I went anyway.  As it turns out the Topanga Banjo and Fiddle Festival is not in Topanga but even further away in Agoura Hills at the Paramount Ranch.  So I shlepped my wheel and a folding chair to the festival.  And it turned out to be a lot of fun.  But I wasn’t kidding about it being really hot.  According to the thermometer there, it was 106 degrees F in the shade.  And I was trying to spin fiber.  We had a nice place under an overhang so we weren’t in the sun.  When I would stand up I’d realize that the back of my shirt and the back of my pants were totally damp.  I walked around a little bit, but it was damn hot in the sun.  Even at the grandstand, hardly anyone would be in front of the stage.  They would be all the way at the back of the grass area in the tree shaded area. 

The whole thing is pretty cool, because it’s in the Paramount ranch where they used to shot Westerns.  So it’s like a little western town.

I was really good and didn’t buy anything.  Unless you count some fruit and a giant bag of kettle corn.  I bought some raffle tickets and really thought I was going to win a banjo or mandolin.  They never called me, so I guess I should give up hope. 

While spinning I hung out with Kathy, Carol and Janel.  There were a few ladies from the Ventura Spinning Guild there too, but I don’t know any of their names. 

As for spinning, I continued to work on the never-ending bag of Alpaca.  I feel like I’m getting really close though.  I got one more skein done.  I’m making a point of doing the whole process all in a day.  No more of this waiting around business.  I’m so tired of carding!

I probably didn’t listen to as much music as I should have.  But there were musicians walking the streets and some groups playing around where we were sitting.  It felt too hot to venture out too much. 

All in all a lot of fun.  I wish you could have been there!

In knitting news, I’m still working on my two unending projects.  I’m almost done with the Featherlight Lingerie Dress.  I should have pictures the next time I blog (unless something goes terribly wrong!).  As for the Laminaria, I finished the blossom charts, and am about to start on the first edging chart.  I haven’t worked on it the last week though.  It’s hard to take a good picture of progress.

And in non-knitting news… I got a haircut!  I went to the Vidal Sassoon Training Academy.  This time I went to the Creative Cutting class.  I was a little scared, but I think I’m pleased with the results.  I’m still getting used to it though.

Here’s a before shot:

(Somehow there’s a lot of views on this pictures in Flickr.  That’s weird, who’s finding them?  And who besides the few people I know would care?  Maybe people just love before-and-afters)

And this is the best picture I could get of the after.  The picture that wasn’t as blurry made me look kind of gross. 

I think it looks better in real life, but I guess it’s hard to say.  I also like to think I look better in real life than in pictures.  The worst is when you show someone a picture of yourself that you think is horrible.  And then they say, “No, it looks just like you.”  Blurg.

In those pictures you can kind of spot my stash in the background.  It would be in those tubs and spilling out of all the bags. 

I can’t wait until you come back to town!  Next up, pictures of my trip to Seattle. 

Jill B.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Banjoes and haircuts

  1. The festival looks like a lot of fun! I also like the haircut. I never know what to do with my hair, and I wish there was a haircut academy by me so someone could just make those decisions for me (the stylists I’ve gone to always just play it really safe :P).

  2. Lisa

    Your haircut looks really cute!

  3. Monique

    Jill, your hair looks soooooo cute! I can’t wait to see you in person. Are you going to be at the spot on Monday?

  4. I totally forgot banjo event! 😦

    I really like your new hair style! Yay! Did you donate your hair?

  5. I do like the new look. Very cute!

  6. Hi Jill!

    I entered the OLD Topanga Banjo and Fiddle contest when I was a kid. In those days it was actually held in Topanga at the Will Geer Theatricum Botanicum. That’s ancient history! Looks like you had a great time with the spinning gals!

    Ellen B.

Leave a Reply

