Some small projects

Hey Jill P.,

I have a few things to show you today.  I already told you about how I ripped out that Fitted Knits tube top that was anything but fitted.  And a few weeks later, I’ve turned a project I couldn’t salvage into a project that I will maybe wear twice!  That’s some kind of improvement.  I made the Surplice Bodice Camisole from Knitting Lingerie Style.  I was so excited for that book before it came out, and then I bought it and never made anything from it.  I wasn’t having great luck with pictures, but here you go.  You know, I’m doing the best I can since I don’t have anyone to take pictures of me wearing my knits. (Can you tell I’m sensitive about pictures?) 

A blurry dirty mirror one:

I used four balls of Cascade Pima Silk.  All of it.  I had to pull about a dozen scrap bits of yarn from my seams just to finish binding off.  Because the yarn has a severe tendency to stretch I knit it at a tighter gauge than in the pattern.  I also made the smallest size, even though I’m a little bigger than that.  To compensate I did an extra “bust dart” yarnover on each side.  I am wearing a bra under it, in case anyone is concerned.  I did notice in the picture in the book, the model has a nipple poking out through a yarnover.  It was color corrected to be not nipple-colored though. 

Once I had the fronts and the back done, I sewed the shoulders and side seams, plus adding the edging around the neckline and arms.  Here’s where I made some changes.  The pattern calls for picking up stitches separately on the back and front and then seaming them later.  Since I knew I might be short on yarn, and because that seemed silly, I modified it to knit in the round.  I also didn’t sew the front pieces together, I just picked up the stitches through both pieces.  It took me a bit to realize that she didn’t add a selvedge stitch on each end of the pieces.  Only at one end of the rows.  But I picked up a multiple of the stitch pattern (6?) and started going for it.  The wrong side rows were just plain knit and purls so I just swapped them around.  Easy-peasy. 

My thoughts about this project?  I don’t like working with cotton.  I feel like I could have only gotten my stitches even if I had knit super tight with it.  It also fuzzed off onto all my clothes and I’d have puffs of fiber floating around and stuck on my hands.  I also would have made this a little longer if I had had the yarn.  When I tried it on with jeans it looked ridiculous.  Really emphasized my short torso.  I had to put on a skirt with a higher waist line for it to look presentable.  I’ll probably wear a tank top underneath it most of the time.  You know, if I actually wear it someday. 

Next up… I finished my Aqua handspun socks!  I’ve already made my complaints about these after I finished my first sock.  But today I’m liking them better.  They don’t feel as small as they did before.  Maybe because I tried them on in the morning, instead of my usual late night fitting.  My feet didn’t have time to swell throughout the day.  That sounds gross, but that’s why you’re supposed to try on shoes in the middle of the day.  So done!

These are from Charlene Schurch’s More Sensational Knitting Socks, using the Open Ribbed Cable stitch pattern.  Toe-up with a short row heel.  At the top I continued the ribbing pattern from the leg of the sock into the ribbing.  This took just under 4oz.  I spun a 3-ply yarn from some dyed superwash I got at OFFF.  They aren’t my best socks, but I’m happy enough with them. 

I keep forgetting to take pictures of my WIPs, but I’m working on a couple of tops that should take me a while to complete.  The Featherlight Lingerie Dress from Lace Style and the Norah Gaughan “capecho” from last winter’s Vogue. 

I went to Colourmart yesterday and ordered some cashmere laceweight yarn.  I’m sooo excited about it.  I can’t wait until it gets here.  Then I’ll be all set for our upcoming lace KALs.  For anyone interested, some of us Culver City folk were planning a Laminaria KAL as soon as Melissa finishes her Shalom sweater.  So get prepared and we’ll start in a few weeks.  Some of us are also planning on doing a KAL for the Irtfa’a shawl from KnitSpot.  That one will be starting when you, Jill P., get back from your European vacation.  So June sometime.  Anyone want to join us? 

Jill B.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Some small projects

  1. sulafaye

    Hurray for turning old into new, and what good new it is! Well done. 😉

Leave a Reply

