Blankets and some other stuff

May I present you with my finished Hemlock Ring Blanket

These photos were taken in the early morning sun just before I took the blocking pins out.

Here are some shots out in full daylight

Plymouth Yarn Co., Boku, 6 skeins from stash (Yay for stash busting!)

Size 9 needles

Used the chart and pattern (different from Jared’s) that is posted in the files sections of the HemlockRing KAL on yahoogroups. If anyone is going to make this blanket, I think it’s a great idea to sign up for this group. You don’t need to get the emails delivered to your inbox and you can always unsubscribe when you’re done.

In other blanket news… I posted pictures to my Flickr of the Culver City Crafter’s group baby log cabin blanket from Mason Dixon Knitting made for Melissa’s beautiful new baby boy. (Those CCCer’s who want to rip photos for their Ravelry project page, may have to scroll through since I haven’t been organized enough to create a folder for it.) I’m really please with how it came out and loved being a part the shared project. Thanks to eveyone who contributed. Let’s do another group project soon!! I think Melissa really liked it and it came in handy since The Spot Cafe was closed and we were knitting out outside at that Starbucks this past week.

Blue Sky Alpaca’s Dyed Cotton, 6 skeins in all different colors

Needle sizes 7,8 and 9 based on gauge of the individual knitter (there were six of us!)

With some of the leftover yarn I made a little baby hat from the Morehouse Farm Merino Knits book and used TECHKnitting’s method for jogless stripes. It was a quick and enjoyable way to learn something new. The little hat fits perfectly on Benjamin. Isn’t he a cutie!

But I also took this kinda goofy one on the cat statue in my yard.

(The pink jasmine has been blooming over the last few weeks and smells amazing! I’ve been wishing, in vain, for warm nights so I can keep the door and windows open to make the most of the sweet evening air.)

I have another small project in the works with some of the other left over scraps, but I wanted it to be a surprise. I’m a little stuck on the last part of the directions and have to get up the courage to just do it. Maybe I’ll get it done this weekend and be able to bring it along with me this Monday. We’ll see…

Everything else is just the same boring WIP’s that I think I’ll wait to blog about until they are either much further along or finished. I got my March installment of the Rockin’ Sock Club this week, so I have some great motivation!

Busy weekend ahead.. have a good one!!

xo, Jill P.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Blankets and some other stuff

  1. Jill, the shawl pictures are breathtaking! Literally, they took my breath and I was all, “Gasp! Pretty!” 🙂 Love the happy blankie and hat, too.

  2. sulafaye

    Your Hemlock ring is beautiful! Well done, and that you were able to capture it on camera. That early morning sun, mmm!

  3. Beautiful blankets, and I love the hat! How big did your Hemlock Ring turn out?

Leave a Reply

