for the love of socks

Hi Jill B.

So I finally finished the socks that I intended to finish before the January installment of the Socks That Rock Club arrived.

Pattern: Combination of Monkey Socks by Cookie A., Los Monos Locos from Knitting Sutra and Cat Bordhi Riverbed Architecture, from New Pathways for Sock Knitters with her standard toe and reinforced heel.

Yarn: Socks That Rock Lightweight, Alina Colorway (Purchased at A Mano Yarn Center a few years ago)

Amount: 1 skein with some leftovers

Needles: Size 0, 32 inch circular, magic loop

Gauge: 8.5 sts/inch

Started: Mid-Jan 2008 Finished: March 12, 2008

Finished size: Snug on my size 7 1/2 foot and 8.5 instep

See it on Ravelry!

Since I used the Riverbed architecture to expand for the instep, there was some slight pooling. I like it, especially the pools of turquoise. I didn’t end up being a huge fan of the standard toe. I think maybe I should have made it a bit wider by casting on more stitches to start.

As soon as I finished, I cast on for the STR Club Serendipity Socks. I haven’t gotten very far, as you can see below, but I’m already really enjoying them. After my failed attempt at Cat Bordhi’s Bartholomew’s Tantalizing Socks, I was convinced that I was going to be a die hard toe-up sock knitter.  But I joined this club as a way to entice myself to try new techniques. Now that I have the hard earned experience and know that I can knit a pair of socks without running out of yarn, I can tell I’m going to enjoy knitting these…

I’m sort of hope that there is some pooling, but will be pleased with whatever they want to be.

BTW, you’d be so proud of me… I had about 2 hours to kill yesterday between work and orchestra rehearsal in Brentwood. I remembered about the huge sale at A Mano and was insanely tempted, as it was the first day of the sale and all. But I was strong. I went to Compatto (they were in the middle of working on updating their new online store.) and sat at the table and didn’t buy anything at all. Grace did try to tease me with the new soya cotton and hemp yarns, but I resisted. How can I blame her… it’s her job. Small victories for the yarn diet though! Speaking of diet. I am determined to get back to my regular YMCA routine. I’m aiming to go ride the elliptical machine today for a bit while catching up with the three ring circus that is our mainstream media news.

xo, Jill P.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “for the love of socks

  1. sulafaye

    Ooo, I love that colorway! And good luck with the elliptical–if you have any success, maybe you could peer pressure me into it? 😉

  2. Peggy

    Hi there,

    How do you find the time? Great socks!

    Have a great weekend Oboegoddess!

    Love,

    Mum

Leave a Reply

