Why my Mom is the coolest

Dear Jill P.,

My friend Tracy was in town this weekend and I was out seeing the town for three crazy days.  We went to the Getty, shoppping in Santa Monica, to FIDM, Chinatown, Olvera Street, to a Culver City bar, and probably much more than that.  It was a whirlwind.  I got to eat at all my favorite restaurants: The Apple Pan, Mishima, Roscoe’s Chicken and Waffles and Tender Greens.  Yum!  But since I’m not eating fried foods for Lent I wasn’t allowed to have fried chicken or chicken katsu which was kind of sad.  Here’s Tracy at the square by Olvera Street:

Tracy and I have been friends since 3rd grade, and it was great seeing her.

It was fun, but I also spent a lot of money.  I bought a pair of Camper boots (half off!) and other various items.  I dragged Tracy along with me to the Little Knittery for the sale.  I ended up buying six skeins of Malabrigo Worsted, which I kind of regret.  I like the color and everything, but I would have liked a solid color if I’m going to be making a whole sweater.  Then I came home from a long day of shopping and site-seeing and there was a package waiting on my door step.  It was all the booty my Mom bought for me at Stitches West!

Two skeins of STR Lightweight in Raven colors: Korppi and Rook-y, Conjoined Creations Pastime (soysilk), another skein of Jaggerspun Heather Fingering weight for my Ostrich Plume shawl, and the Baby Brunhilde/Viking hat pattern.  It was such an exciting package to receive.

Even though I told myself not to knit any socks or lace for awhile (in stash busting mode), I started on the Ostrich Plume shawl.  I had a skein of that yarn that I bought last year at Stitches West along with the pattern.  I then realized that I probably needed a second skein, so my Mom found another one, with the same dyelot and everything this year!  I’m just getting started on the pattern, but am getting kind of antsy already.  I feel like I need constant excitement in my knitting projects.

This weekend I managed to finish up spinning my Merino/Tencel lavender roving.  I just need to ply the last two bobbins.  I also finished up the Cross Strap Top!  I had a few errors/problems with it, but happily I am not a perfectionist.  In fact the back is a slightly different pattern than the front!  The original printing of the pattern had a couple wrong stitches in the pattern chart.  Oh well, close enough.  I haven’t taken a full modelling shot yet.  Or figured out what kind of tank top to wear underneath.

Here’s one when it was only half finished held up against my body.  (I’m getting tired of these mirror-pictures.  Oh, you too?)

Besides random projects waiting for finishing touches, the shawl is the only thing on the needles.  I think maybe I should start something plain to work on at the same time.  And something that will use up more of my yarn.  I may have to start a skirt.  Hmm, I hate to switch into summer knitting mode when it’s still winter.  Well as “winter” as it can really be here in Southern California.

I think this weekend may be perfect for a Wii party!  I finally got my second controller.   Anyone in?

See you tonight at The Other Boleyn Girl!

Jill B.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Why my Mom is the coolest

  1. sulafaye

    Can’t wait to see that top finished! What a great mom, too.

  2. Ooooh, those colors of STR are beautiful! They look all mysterious and spooky. 🙂

Leave a Reply

