Why does inspiration turn so easily into frustration?

So, I had been in a finishing mode for a while and now I’m not. My list of WIPs is growing and many more ideas are flowing. As if the blogs I read and Ravelry aren’t enough to make me bulge with creative juices and overflow with inspiration, last weekend I visited the Craft and Folk Art Museum.

CAFAM

I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT THIS IS THE FIRST TIME I’VE BEEN TO THIS WONDERFUL PLACE. If you haven’t been you must go. I used to drive by it every day on my way to work, but since I moved to the Westside, it’s been an out of sight out of mind kind of thing. It is a very small museum. I think they usually only have one or two exhibits on at a time. But in addition they have the most lovely gift shop that carries mostly fair trade goods. Next time I’m in a pinch and need a super duper gift for someone special, but don’t have time to craft it myself, I will be shopping here.

Right now they have a lovely exhibit on puppets. No photography is allow so I spent a lot of time sketching eyes and faces.

Eyes

Eyes

Face

Face

They also have an exhibit by a woman whose medium is the Japanese art of Katagami. I was especially interested in her works that featured representations of ginko, pine, maple, cherry and bamboo. Loved it!

So now here’s the part where inspiration turns to frustration… I want to turn everything I see into knit, but don’t have the real know how to do it. For the last two years I’ve actively pursued projects that will challenge me and teach me new skills, so that one day I can start creating something original. I feel like this is a double edge sword though because I easily get caught up in collecting patterns that I want to knit and at this point have more in the queue than I could knit in a lifetime. When do I put down the patterns and pick up my sketches and start listening to my knitting muse? Now I know everyone is probably shouting “Now, Now, Now!” and you’re right. There’s no time like the present. I guess I don’t really have to knit a full on aran sweater to start experimenting with cables, or toil away at huge lace shawls before improvising with YO and K2tog. Maybe my problem is that what I want to do is so big in my head that I can’t even fathom where to begin….

Anyway enough inside my head talk… tonight I’m meeting up with my friend AJ for another Hemlock Ring Blanket lesson. This is not something I would have chosen to knit necessarily, but I am enjoying the process and having a ton of fun enabling my friend. The yarn is from my stash (Plymouth Boku, a Noro knock off with way fewer knots. Highly recommended.).

Hemlock Ring Blanket

Hemlock Ring Blanket

I joined the KAL on yahoogroups and it was extremely helpful, since following the chart and pattern from Jared’s blog was problematic for me. Anyway this shouldn’t take me long to finish and I’m not in any hurry. There will be no guilt if it languishes in the WIP bin for a while. BTW, AJ is knitting it in Blue Sky Alpaca’s Organic Cotton. It’s going to be beautiful.

Then I have two projects that are currently sharing a set of size 8 needles.

Bonsai Tunic

Bonsai Tunic

Clapotis

Clapotis

The yarn for Clapotis, which is Blue Heron Rayon Metallic Sportweight, smells so strong of detergent that it makes me nauseous and gives me a headache. I keep persevering because I really like the look and feel , but I might have to relegate it to outside knitting only.

Well, it’s getting late in the day and though I have more to share, I’m running out of time.

Have a lovely weekend!

Outside my front door!

xo, Jill P.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Why does inspiration turn so easily into frustration?

  1. sulafaye

    Wow, I bet it was amazing- and I think the Hemlock ring colors are a perfectly beautiful choice! Can’t wait to see it (is that inspirational?). 😉

  2. Jill B.

    If that first page of sketches wasn’t labeled I’d think you had just seen a Georgia O’Keefe exhibit instead. Ha!

  3. Peggy

    The blue and brown are so nice together in the Hemlock ring. You are so prolific!

    XXXXXXXXXXXOOOOOOOOO!

    Mum

Leave a Reply

