Hey look, I’m famous!

Well, maybe not so much.  But you can see me in the background of this photo on LA Times.com.  Check out the article.  It covers the activities at the Los Angeles Fiber Shed Pop-up in Hollywood.  They are having workshops and lectures for the next two weeks.  I went last weekend to demonstrate spinning.  My friend Nina was organizing/helping out with the event and invited me and another girl from the spinning guild to come demonstrate.  I was given some natural alpaca fiber from Water Bear Ranch to spin.  In a few hours I was able to spin quite a bit.  Maybe 4 oz.  I finished the yarn the next day too and now have some yummy lace weight yarn to play with.

I don’t have any pictures of the finished yarn yet.  Just so this post isn’t completely devoid of pictures, did I ever show you pictures of the scarf I knit for Lucas last fall?  I just recently took some rushed finished pictures.

I used the Dudester Scarf pattern and used a long color repeat yarn (Universal Yarns Classic Shades).  We added in a blue stripe in the middle just to mix things up.  My Rav page is here.  I think it looks better in real life than in these pictures.  It wasn’t super exciting of a project, but it was strangely fulfilling.  Simple knit/purl textures are relaxing and effective.

Have a wonderful weekend everyone!  Come join me at the Greater Los Angeles Spinning Guild meeting tomorrow at 10am!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Hey look, I’m famous!

  1. Lisa

    You are famous! Can I get your autograph?

  2. Lauren

    We saw the photo in the Saturday section today! Very cool!

Leave a Reply

