FO: Heart ring pillow

Valentine’s Day isn’t really a thing for me.  It’s kind of nice to do a little something for it, but I generally don’t put much stock in the holiday.  Part of it is because I have been single for most Feb. 14ths.  And now that I’m in a relationship I don’t want to do a total 180 and be into the holiday now.  Anyhoo.

I have had this pattern on my radar since it was first published in Knitty in 2008.  I thought it would be cute/interesting to use this anatomically shaped heart as a ring pillow for a wedding.  Since I have a wedding to think ahead to, I decided to crank it out.

My Rav page here.

Pattern: Heart by Kristin Ledgett

Yarn: Knit Picks Stroll in Burgundy and Knitter’s Brewing Company in Red.

Needles: US 2.25mm

Start Date: Feb. 1, 2014

Finish Date: Feb 4, 2014

I didn’t make any mods.  My gauge was a little tighter than the pattern so my heart is a little small.  It fits perfectly in the palm of my hand.

In terms of a ring pillow?  Yeah, I don’t know.  Maybe we’ll use it, or maybe not.  I put some ribbon through the ventricles to keep the rings on.  I will replace the ribbon with red ribbon if we actually use it.  I think the main reason it wouldn’t happen is that we are thinking about not having a wedding party, so wouldn’t do the traditional aisle thing.

I planned on also making a little mini version of the heart, using this pattern.  It’s also a free pattern.  I ultimately didn’t want to take time away from my Ravellenic Games project.  Maybe later.

Have a great day, if you celebrate or not.  I hope you don’t get stuck in traffic!  The last few years have been traffic hell in Los Angeles on VDay!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “FO: Heart ring pillow

  1. Lisa

    ❤️Happy Valentine’s Day!❤️
    That heart is pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

