FO: Oslo Walk Shawl

It was so nice meeting Lucas’s grandmother, that I really wanted to make her something. It took some discussion with both Lucas and his Mom to come up with a plan.

I was told that she would want a dark colored little neck thing to be worn during the winter. And also that she likes sparkle. This is what I came up with:

My Rav page here.

Start Date: Dec. 5, 2013

Finish Date: Dec. 15, 2013

Pattern: Oslo Walk Shawl by Susanna IC from Interweave Knits, Winter 2010.

Yarn: 100% cashmere laceweight from Wildfiber in Santa Monica, only 22grams (350 yds) used.

Needles: US6

Mods: None really. I did an extra purl row after the cast-on, just to make my life easier. I used 8/0 glass TOHO in Metallic Teal Green Iris.

Usually my size 12 steel crochet hook fits through this size of beads, but it wasn’t consistently this time. And then I tried to force it, and I broke my tiny crochet hook. Then I had to frantically try to find a replacement. I bought a 14, and it worked okay, but it split the yarn a little too much, and still didn’t fit through all beads. I used the floss method for a while, but I couldn’t get a good rhythm going. I was looking on this site for other tips. Maybe for my next project I need to try the Fleegle beader! It all worked out and once I was able to get my new hook, the rest of the shawl zipped by.

I wanted my bind-off to be firm to keep the structure of the crescent. I didn’t want it all floppy and curling at the top. But my bind-off ended up pretty tight, even with binding off loosely. I did end up redoing it to be a little looser. I was a little torn because I wanted it to hold its shape, but with such a light gauzy shawl the edge felt a little tight and contrasted the body of the shawl. I didn’t come up with a solution I totally liked, but that’s okay. It was a pretty quick project and I think it looks nice.

I hope Lucas’s Nana loves it!

Maxine and Mary are performing a little musical number here!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

